Three geographers awarded for teaching and research excellence

Social Sciences

The Canadian Association of Geographers announced Phil DeardenIan O'Connell and Simon Springer as the recipients of an award honouring research and teaching excellence.

"Getting three awards in one year is an exceptional accomplishment, but even more remarkable is how these highlight our excellence in both teaching and research activities," says Johan Feddema, Chair of the Department of Geography. Dearden received the CAG Award for Scholarly Distinction in Geography, awarded on the basis of sustained scholarly distinction over a number of years. O’Connell received the CAG Award for Excellence in Teaching Geography, and Springer was recognized with the Julian M. Szeicz Award for research achievement and career potential by a Canadian geographer at an early career stage.

In this story

Keywords: teaching, award, geography

People: Phil Dearden, Ian O'Connell, Simon Springer

Related stories