Chancellor election opens May 20

From May 20 to June 20 members of the university convocation can vote to elect a new chancellor. The nominees are retired Victoria heart surgeon James Dutton and UVic Board of Governors Chair Murray Farmer, BA ’68. Dutton was nominated by a group that includes former chancellor Dr. William Gibson and Dr. Reg Mitchell (chemistry). Farmer was nominated by members of the board of directors of the UVic Alumni Association. Voting will take place via webvote ( and mail-in balloting. The new chancellor and members of senate will begin three-year terms starting Jan. 1, 2009. Chancellor Ron Lou-Poy completes his second term on Dec. 31.

In this story

Keywords: leadership

Related stories