Faculty

Professors

Colin Bradley, Professor, PhD, PEng, University of Victoria. Contact: 250-721-6031, EOW 335; cbr@uvic.ca
Manufacturing automation, design, sensor systems. (Adaptive Optics Research Laboratory)

Nedjib Djilali, Professor, PhD, PEng, University of British Columbia. Contact: 250-721-6034, EOW 527; ndjilali@uvic.ca
Fluid dynamics, transport phenomena, fuel cell technology. Home Page

Zuomin Dong (Chair), Professor, PhD, PEng, State Univ. of New York at Buffalo. Contact: 250-721-8900, EOW 551; zdong@uvic.ca
Integrated multiphysics modeling, simulation and global optimization, next generation hybrid electric vehicles and fuel cell systems; optimal 5-axis CNC tool path generation, smart grid, green ship, and intelligent systems. Home Page

Sadik Dost, Professor, PhD, PEng, Technical University of Istanbul. Contact: 250-721-8898, EOW 523; sdost@uvic.ca
Crystal growth, transport phenomena, advanced materials.

Ron P. Podhorodeski, Professor, PhD, PEng, University of Toronto. Contact: podhoro@uvic.ca
Manipulator kinematics and design, surgical instrument modeling and design, assistance/therapy aids for the physically challenged, mechanism analysis and design.

Yang Shi (undergraduate adviser),   Professor, PhD, (Alberta), PEng. Contact: 250-853-3178, EOW 519, yshi@uvic.ca
Systems and control, networked and distributed control systems, MPC and distributed MPC, mechatronics, navigation and control of autonomous vehicles, optimization and control of energy systems. Home Page

Henning Struchtrup, Professor, PhD, Technical University, Berlin. Contact: 250-721-8916, EOW 533; struchtr@uvic.ca
Non-equilibrium thermodynamics, kinetic theory of gases, microscale transport, aerosol coagulation. Home Page

Afzal Suleman, Professor, PhD, PEng, University of British Columbia. Contact: 250-721-6039, EOW 509; suleman@uvic.ca
Multidisciplinary design optimization, computational and experimental mechanics with application to aerospace structures and systems.

Peter Wild, Professor, PhD, PEng, University of Victoria. Contact: 250-721-8901, EOW 535; pwild@uvic.ca
Mechatronics, mechanical design, sensors and instrumentation.

Associate Professors

Brad Buckham, Associate Professor, PhD, PEng, University of Victoria. Contact: 250-721-6035, EOW 531; bbuckham@uvic.ca
Underwater vehicle - dynamics and control, finite element methods.

Daniela Constantinescu, Associate Professor, PhD, University of British Columbia. Contact: 250-721-6040, EOW 543; danielac@uvic.ca
Haptics, mechatronics, robotics, dynamics and control.

Curran A. Crawford, Associate Professor, PhD, EIT, Cambridge University. Contact: 250-721-7960, EOW 539; curranc@uvic.ca
Multidisciplinary design optimization; wind turbine analysis and design; variable fidelity aerodynamic and structural modeling; sustainable energy systems. Home Page

Nikolai Dechev, Associate Professor, PhD, PEng, University of Toronto. Contact: 250-721-8933; dechev@uvic.ca
Biomedical systems design, MEMS (micro-electromechanical systems), mechatronics, robotics and automation.  Laboratory Page.

Rodney Herring, Associate Professor, PhD, PEng, University of Birmingham. Contact: 250-721-8934; rherring@uvic.ca
Crystal growth, electron microscopy, confocal holography.

Martin Byung-Guk Jun, Associate Professor, PhD (UIUC). Contact: 250-853-3179, EOW 515; mbgjun@uvic.ca
CAM, meso/micro-scale manufacturing.

Ben Nadler, Associate Professor, PhD, University of California - Berkeley. Contact: 250-721-6050, EOW 507; bnadler@uvic.ca
Continuum mechanics, computational mechanics, mechanics of shells and thin films, material evolution, mechanics of high-strength fabric materials, biomechanics, multi-scale modeling, Cosserat media.

Peter Oshkai (graduate adviser), Associate Professor, PhD, Lehigh University. Contact: 250-721-8922, EOW 529; poshkai@uvic.ca
Unsteady flows, flow-acoustic coupling, fluid-structure interactions. Home Page

Andrew Rowe, Associate Professor, PhD, University of Victoria. Contact: 250-721-8920, EOW 527; arowe@me.uvic.ca
Thermodynamics, energy systems, cryogenics, heat transfer. Home Page

Joanne L. Wegner, Associate Professor, PhD, PEng, University of Alberta. Contact: 250-721-8694, EOW 537; jwegner@uvic.ca
Nonlinear elastic wave propagation, polymers, numerical analysis.

Caterina Valeo, Associate Professor, PhD, McMaster University. Contact: 250-721-8623, EOW 543; valeo@uvic.ca
Disturbance modelling in forested regions, sustainable urban development of water resources, climate change impacts and analysis using artificial neural networks, pollutant dispersion modelling in rivers and nearshore regions.  Home Page

Assistant Professors

Rustom B. Bhiladvala, Assistant Professor, PhD, Yale University. Contact: 250-721-8616, EOW 521; rustomb@uvic.ca
Nanoscale materials, mechanics and transport. Fluid and biomedical sensor development. Energy and sustainable development.

Rishi Gupta, Assistant Professor, PhD (UBC). Contact 250-721-7033, EOW 343; guptar@uvic.ca

Stephanie Willerth, Assistant Professor, PhD,Washington University in St. Louis. Contact: 250-721-7303, EOW 513; willerth@uvic.ca, lab site
Biomedical engineering; tissue engineering, regenerative medicine, biomaterials scaffolds for controlling stem cell differentiation.

Senior Instructors

Scott Iverson, Senior Lecturer, PhD, Colorado. Contact: 250-721-8741, EOW 503; siverson@me.uvic.ca

Andrew Hung, PhD, Carnegie Mellon

Hubert W. King, Professor, PhD, PEng, University of Birmingham

Zhong-Sheng (Simon) Liu, PhD, Jilin

Yasunori Okono, PhD, Waseda

Barbara Sawicki, PhD, Jagiellonian

David S. Scott, BSc, MSc (Queen’s), PhD (Northw), PEng

Yury Stepanenko, DipEng (Moscow Inst of Machine Tool Eng), Candidate of Science (Moscow Eng Res Inst), DSc (Academy of Science, USSR)

Geoffrey W. Vickers, DipEng (Birm), MSc, PhD (Manc), PEng, CEng

Susan Fiddler, BMus (Victoria), Mechanical Engineering Cooperative Education Coordinator

Calvin Tripp, BASc (Waterloo), Mechanical Engineering Cooperative Education Coordinator

Carlos Correia, Lic., (Porto), PhD (Paris)