Colloquia and Seminars 2017-18


Colloquia, seminar and other talks from previous academic years are listed in our archive.

Colloquia are held weekly on Wednesdays during the academic year (September through to April) in the Elliott Building lecture theatre 167 at 2:30 pm (unless otherwise stated). They are geared at a general audience—faculty, staff, students and interested members of the general public are welcome.


Wednesday, September 13
Dr. Jessica Werk, University of Washington
"Circumgalactic Matter Matters"

Wednesday, September 20
Dr. Dan Werthimer, University of California, Berkeley
"Is Anyone Out There? SETI@home and the Breakthrough Listen Project"

Wednesday, September 27
Dr. Guy Wormser, Laboratoire de l'Accélérateur Linéaire, CNRS
"Lepton Universality violation, a promising approach towards new physics beyond the Standard Model"

Wednesday, October 4
TBA

Wednesday, October 11
Dr. Cornelia Hoehr, TRIUMF
TBA

Wednesday, October 18
Dr. Gray Rybka, University of Washington
TBA

Wednesday, October 25
Dr. Karin Sandstrom, University of California, San Diego
TBA

Wednesday, November 1
Dr. Mark Kasevich, Stanford University
TBA

Wednesday, November 8
Dr. Victor Gurarie, University of Colorado, Boulder
TBA

Wednesday, November 22
TBA

Wednesday, November 29
Dr. Daniel Fisher, Stanford University
TBA


The Spring term colloquia series will be posted soon.

Seminars are specialized and geared for those in a particular field. Dates and times for these talks vary.


Tuesday, September 26
10:00 a.m. / Clearihue Building, Room C115
Dr. Carsten Krauss, University of Alberta
"Status and recent results from the PICO dark matter search"

PAST SEMINARS

Wednesday, August 30
2:00 p.m. / Engineering/Computer Science Building, Room 104
Dr. Garth Huber, University of Regina
"Deep Exclusive p(e,e'π+)n and p(e,e'K+)Λ Studies at Jefferson Lab"

Thursday, August 3
2:00 p.m. / Engineering/Computer Science Building, Room 108
Dr. Mike Boylan-Kolchin, University of Texas at Austin
"The Faint Frontier of Galaxy Formation"

Thursday, August 3
11:00 a.m. / Engineering/Computer Science Building, Room 108
Prof. Oleg Gnedin, University of Michigan
"Modeling of Star Clusters in Galaxy Formation Simulations"

Tuesday, August 1
2:00 p.m. / Engineering/Computer Science Building, Room 108
Dr. Justin Read, University of Surrey
"Near-field cosmology with dwarf galaxies"

Friday, June 2
1:00 p.m. / Clearihue Building, Room B215
Dr. Emma Kuwertz, ATLAS Research Assistant, University of Victoria
"Operation and performance of the ATLAS Detector in LHC Run II"

Thursday, May 25
11:00 a.m. / Bob Wright Centre, Room A104
Dr. Pascal Jahan Elahi, International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research, University of Western Australia
“SURFS: Synthetic UniveRses for Surveys”

Monday, May 15
2:00 p.m. / MacLaurin Building, Room D287
Prof. Clarence Virtue, Spokesperson for the HALO and HALO-1Kt Experiments
"Using Lead to Learn About Supernovae"

Wednesday, May 10
2:00 p.m. / Engineering Computer Science Building, Room 130
Dr. Christopher Hearty, University of British Columbia/Institute of Particle Physics
"Searches for the Dark Sector at BaBar, Belle II, and Elsewhere"

Wednesday, May 3
11:00 a.m. / Bob Wright Centre, Room A104
Prof. Nicolas Martin, University of Strasbourg
"First results from the Pristine CaHK survey with CFHT/MegaCam"

The Café Scientifique series is an informal series of talks given in a relaxed setting such as a café. These talks are designed to engage the public in learning about recent research in science. Given by experts in the field, these talks provide an opportunity to stimulate discussion around some of the most exciting topics in modern science. Join us for this exciting series in 2017-18!


The 2017-18 Café Scientifique series of talks includes:

Tuesday, September 12, 2017
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
Dr. Rodney Herring, Mechanical Engineering
"Seeing is believing or the power of imaging with phase and not power"
**Registration opens August 21st**


Tuesday, October 10, 2017
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
Dr. Kristin Morell, School of Earth and Ocean Science
'Finding hidden active faults on Vancouver island'
**Talk details to follow**

Tuesday, November 21, 2017
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
Dr. Rachel Boschen, Biology
"All that glitters is not gold: deep-sea mining and untold biological wealth"

Tuesday, January 9, 2018
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
Dr. Jane Gair, Division of Medical Science
**Talk details to follow**

Tuesday, February 20, 2018
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
Dr. Alan McConnachie, Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics
**Talk details to follow**

Tuesday, March 13, 2018
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
Dr. Alex Brolo, Chemistry
**Talk details to follow**

Tuesday, April 10, 2018
6:30 p.m. / Hermann's Jazz Club @ 753 View Street
Dr. Alex van Netten, Physics & Astronomy
**Talk details to follow**

SPECIAL TALKS

UVic Women Science Re-Launch
Wednesday, September 27, 2017
6:30 p.m. / Fort Tectoria Tilted Rocket Lounge
Dr. Emma Davy (Teaching Fellow, Quest University), Dr. Sara Ellison (Physics & Astronomy, UVic), Robyn Quinn (iWIST Founder, Big Bang Communications)

Uvic Women in Science Re-Launch

Alan Astbury Public Lecture
Thursday, May 4, 2017
7:30 p.m. / Bob Wright Centre, Room B150
Prof. Barry Barish, Linde Professor of Physics, emeritus, Caltech
"From Einstein to Gravitational Waves and Beyond"
RSVP at https://uvic-phys-barish.eventbrite.ca