Faculty

For more details, click on a name or face. Also check out the Research page.
*Indicates faculty who accept graduate students.
  Faculty member Contact Interests
David Berg David Berg*
Associate Professor

Berg research group
Elliott 314
250-721-7161 
djberg@uvic.ca
F-elements, organometallic & coordination chemistry, synthesis, medical and catalytic applications
Cornelia Bohne

Cornelia Bohne*
Professor

Bohne research group

Elliott 246
250-721-7151
cornelia.bohne
@gmail.com

Supramolecular dynamics, kinetics, host-guest, gels, photophysics, photochromism, asphaltene, soft materials
Sandy Briggs

Sandy Briggs
Assistant Teaching Professor

Elliott 313
250-721-7163
briggsag@uvic.ca
Chemical education, organic chemistry
Alex Brolo Alexandre Brolo*
Professor
 
Brolo research group
Elliott 317
250-721-7167
agbrolo@uvic.ca
Surface spectroscopy, Raman, photovoltaics, bioanalytical, cancer research, single-molecule detection
Neil Burford

Neil Burford*
Professor
Department Chair

Burford research group
Elliott 303
250-721-7150
nburford@uvic.ca 
Chemistry of phosphorus, arsenic, antimony & bismuth: new synthetic and spectroscopic studies
Katherine Elvira Katherine Elvira*

Assistant Professor

Elvira Research Group

Elliott 315
250-721-7165

kelvira@uvic.ca

Microfluidics, artificial cells, droplets, in vitro drug assays, patient analytics, simulation.
Natia Frank Natia Frank*
Associate Professor

Frank research group
Elliott 305a
250-721-7154
nlfrank@uvic.ca
Materials chemistry, organic electronics, photovoltaics, photochromism, photomagnetism,  spintronics
David Harrington

David Harrington*
Professor

Harrington research group

Elliott 316
250-721-7166
dharr@uvic.ca
Microfluidic & surface electro-chemistry, fuel cell catalysis, impedance spectroscopy        
Robin Hicks

Robin Hicks*
Professor
Associate Dean of Science, Academic
Hicks research group

Elliott 166
250-721-7062
rhicks@uvic.ca
Coordination chemistry;        redox-active ligands;
stable radicals; functional dyes
Fraser Hof

Fraser Hof*
Professor 
CRC Chair 

Hof research group
Elliott 238
250-721-7193
fhof@uvic.ca

Medicinal chemistry, molecular recognition, synthesis, epigenetic therapies and chemical biology

Dennis Hore

Dennis Hore*
Associate Professor

Hore research group

Elliott 318
250-721-7168
dkhore@uvic.ca
Biophysical chemistry, spectroscopy, instrument design and   modelling
Robert H. Lipson

Robert Lipson*
Professor
Dean of Science

Lipson research group
Elliott 166
250-721-7062
rlipson@uvic.ca
Materials, nanotechnology, surfaces, energy, kinetics/dynamics
Scott McIndoe

Scott McIndoe*
Professor

McIndoe research group

Elliott 307
250-721-7181
mcindoe@uvic.ca
Catalyst discovery and mechanisms, organometallic chemistry and mass spectrometry
Matthew Moffitt

Matthew Moffitt*
Professor

Moffitt research group

Elliott 319
250-721-7162
mmoffitt@uvic.ca

Self-assembly, polymer materials, nanoparticles, quantum dots, drug delivery, and microfluidics

Irina Paci

Irina Paci*
Associate Professor

Paci research group

Elliott 309
250-472-4946
ipaci@uvic.ca
Self-assembly on solid surfaces, Monte Carlo and multi-scale methods, materials in external fields
Lisa Rosenberg

Lisa Rosenberg*
Associate Professor

Rosenberg research group

Elliott 242
250-721-7173
lisarose@uvic.ca

Homogeneous catalysis in main group chemistry,
mechanistic organometallic and coordination chemistry

Frank van Veggel

Frank van Veggel*
Professor

van Veggel research group

Elliott 234
250-721-7184
fvv@uvic.ca
Nanoparticles and quantum dots for cancer diagnostics
and therapy, quantum computing and spintronics
Peter Wan

Peter Wan*
Professor

Wan research group

Elliott 310
250-721-8976
pwan@uvic.ca

Mechanisms of organic photochemical reactions.

Synthesis of compounds of pharmaceutical interest including intermediates and active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs).

Jeremy Wulff

Jeremy Wulff*
Associate Professor
CRC Chair

Wulff research group
Elliott 311
250-721-7179
wulff@uvic.ca
Total synthesis and chemical biology; control of protein-protein interactions with small molecules

Separate pages list adjunct faculty and professors emeriti, lab instructors and sessional lecturers and staff.