UVic's Aboriginal Language Revitalization, four-year program featured on CBC news

UVic program aims to revitalize South Slavey language in N.W.T. Above image shows participants and mentors in the Aboriginal Language Revitalization program. The program includes 17 participants, mentors, and advisors. (image submitted by Joyce McLeod) March is Aboriginal Languages Month in the Northwest Territories, and a language revival course is opening new doors and possibilities for those who want to learn one of the territory's 11 official tongues. Aboriginal Language Revitalization is a four-year program taught out of the University of Victoria, but based in the N.W.T. It pairs fluent speakers with a group of adult students interested in learning Dene Zhatie — also known as South Slavey. Currently, there are 17 students in the program, including Fort Simpson's Dahti Tsetso, who was paired with Violet Jumbo. "In the Dene way, the language and the culture intertwine," says Tsetso, "so if you don't have one, you're really missing out. It's really important for me to be able to claim that, and be able to share it with others." UVic's Aboriginal Language Revitalization, four-year program has been featured on CBC news. Link to this new item below. By Erin Brohman, Garrett Hinchey, with files from Shannon Scott, CBC News Posted: Mar 16, 2015 10:00 AM CT Last Updated: Mar 16, 2015 6:34 PM CT _______________________________________________________________________________________ Onowa McIvor, Ph.D | Director | Assistant Professor | Indigenous Education | Faculty of Education | UVic | T 250.721.7826 _______________________________________________________________________________________

Interdisciplinary Networking Event

Dear Colleagues, You are invited to a first time Interdisciplinary Networking Event! Interdisciplinarity has been a trademark of how we talk about U Vic's programs and approaches to teaching and learning. It is the hallmark of a number of successful programs across campus and from many different disciplinary fields. For example, we have interdisciplinary minors programs like Technology and Society, or Social Justice Studies, as well as joint majors in programs like Engineering and Music, Law and Business. Other professional programs are inherently interdisciplinary in their design, such as Child and Youth Care, or are devoted to interdisciplinary research, such as the Center for Addictions Research. These are, of course, only some of the many examples from interdisciplinary programs offered across campus. Yet as those of us who work in interdisciplinary programs know, there are challenges to supporting interdisciplinary programs, in how we work across units, departments or faculties, but also in how we deliver and design curriculum, or engage in pedagogical practices that draw upon and link diverse disciplinary knowledge. To begin the process of engaging with faculty and staff involved and interested in interdisciplinary programs, I am sponsoring the first Interdisciplinary Open House. The goal of this event is to have an event that creates a space in which to network, share ideas, hear more about interdisciplinary initiatives at U Vic, and engage in a spirited dialogue about the nature of interdisciplinarity in the contemporary university, at U Vic in particular. As a part of this event, I am delighted to announce that Dr. David Helfand, President of Quest University, has agreed to come and give a short talk about the ways in which interdisciplinary thinking, inquiry, research, and learning pedagogies come together in their undergraduate degree program. His talk, entitled "Interdisciplinary Learning in the 21st Century University" will provide a way of beginning our conversations. He will talk for about 20 minutes, beginning at noon, leaving lots of time for you to engage in a dialogue with him and you colleagues. There will also be and opportunity to network with colleagues from across campus, enjoy some food, and provide feedback tot he office of Interdisciplinary Academic Programs on your ideas and concerns about interdisciplinarity ant U Vic. Our off campus colleagues are also welcome to join us for this event: I 'd appreciate an email about if you are planning to attend, just to help with panning and ensuring we have enough food! This event is sponsored by the office of Interdisciplinary Academic Programs, and is happy to have the support of the Learning and Teaching Center, Technology Integrated Learning and the Institute for Studies & Innovation in Community-University Engagement. So please save the date: March 26th from 11:30 am to 1:30 pm in the David Strong Building, Room C128. Light refreshments will be served. Dr. Catherine McGregor, Associate Professor, Leadership Studies E: T: 250-721-7823 Past President, CASWE (Canadian Association for the Study of Women in Education) Fellow, Center for Youth Society Director, Interdisciplinary Academic Programs.

Community + Scholarship Fund Deadline March 15

com•mu•ni•ty:  n., pl. –ties. sharing together: community of food supplies, community of ideas. (adapted from Gage Canadian Dictionary)   schol•ar•ship: n. 1. Knowledge gained by study and inquiry. 2. A grant of money or other aid to support continued study and inquiry. (adapted from Gage Canadian Dictionary)     • The Community + Scholarship Fund is available to support the sharing of ideas that promote and enhance cross-unit inquiry and student, staff, and faculty engagement.   • Grants (max. $1000) are available to teams or pairs of applicants consisting of at least one student and one faculty member.   • Applications may be submitted in any one of 3 funding cycles, with the following deadlines: July 15,   November 15,   March 15   • Applicants are eligible once per academic year (July 1 – June 30).   • Possible community scholarship endeavours: • Mini-retreat or event around a scholarship/research theme • Invited speaker who engages cross-unit interest (travel, accommodation, honoraria for short visit of 1-2 days) • Off-site visit/tour that engages community scholarship • Your idea here!       To apply, please complete the attached form and submit electronically to: Faculty Research + Community Engagement Office   For further information, please contact: Dr. Wanda Hurren           phone: 7757 Community Scholarship Fund Application

February 2015 Research Monthly Postcard

Ryan Rhodes, Exercise Science, Physical and Health Education: Making exercise a habit

Ryan Rhodes, a professor of behavioral medicine at the University of Victoria in British Columbia who studies exercise intention and compliance answers - What’s the best way to create a habit of exercising? - for the New York Times blog Ask Well Read the full article at

Calling all couch potatoes

You can help a UVic researcher find out what it takes to become a habitual exerciser by Patty Pitts New Year's resolutions to exercise more are as predictable as post-holiday leftovers, bloated credit card statements and pine needles embedded in the carpet. But while the joint goal of getting fit and losing weight is generally the most popular of resolutions, it is also the one most commonly broken.

When it's time for "the talk"

Any parent with a computer in the house knows the warnings—keep the device in a central place, like a kitchen, so children can surf the internet under the supervision of an adult. But when portable tablets and easy wifi access took control away from parents (despite their best efforts) and gave it to very young users, University of Victoria educational psychology and leadership professor Jillian Roberts noticed a sudden shift when working clinically with children in the community as a registered psychologist.

A partnership program between the Faculty of Education and College of the Rockies

Servant Leadership research profiled

Oct. 17, 2014 - Goldstream Gazzette profiles Carolyn Crippen's research with Ph.D. student David Nagel about servant leadership.