Skip to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.


Return to top of page.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.

Pure mathematics

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics has a substantial number of researchers working in a variety of areas of Pure Mathematics, including operator theory, noncommutative geometry, dynamical systems and ergodic theory, number theory and topology. Several people work in more than one of these areas, developing subtle and deep interactions between the subjects. There are a number of graduate students and post-doctoral fellows working in pure mathematics. Graduate students enjoy close contact with faculty members.

The group in operator algebras and noncommutative geometry is among the strongest in Canada and Victoria is a recognized centre internationally. Researchers study links between operator algebras and number theory, dynamical systems, topology and index theory, and group theory. This group is the centre for a PIMS Collaborative Research Group in Operator Algebras and Noncommutative Geometry. During the period of concentration from 2009 to 2012, it has hosted a number of high profile international meetings as well as a summer school for graduate students which attracted students from all over the world. The group holds a regular operator theory seminar.

Dynamical systems and ergodic theory are another focal point of the group. These disciplines have substantial links with probability, information theory, number theory, geometry, scientific computation and mathematical physics. Researchers in the area are actively involved in exploring these fruitful interfaces. This discipline benefits from strong regional connections with researchers in dynamical systems and probability in the Pacific Northwest and hosts a regular dynamics seminar, often featuring researchers from outside Victoria.

Faculty

NameContactResearch interests
Bose, Chriscbose@uvic.ca
250-721-7471
DTB A517
Ergodic theory and dynamical systems
Budney, Ryanrybu@uvic.ca
250-853-3292
DTB A516
Geometry and topology
Emerson, Heathhemerson@uvic.ca
250-721-7462
DTB A447
Operator algebras, index theory, hyperbolic groups
Laca, Marcelolaca@uvic.ca
250-721-7467
DTB A548
Operator algebras, semi-group crossed products, C*-dynamical Hecke C*-algebras
Putnam, Ianifputnam@uvic.ca
250-721-7449
DTB A444
Operator algebras, dynamical systems
Quas, Anthonyaquas@uvic.ca
250-721-7463
DTB A538
Ergodic theory and dynamical systems
Sourour, Ahmedsourour@uvic.ca
250-721-7452
DTB A553
Functional analysis, operator theory, linear algebra
Trifkovic, Makmtrifkov@uvic.ca
250-721-7455
DTB A523
Arithmetic of elliptic curves and modular forms
top of page

Professors emeritus

NameContactResearch interests
Leeming, Davidleemingd@uvic.ca
250-472-4928
DTB A418a
Approximation theory, Euler and Bernoulli polynomials
Miller, Garymillergg@uvic.ca

Phillips, Johnjohnphil@uvic.ca
250-721-7450
DTB A539
Operator algebras, operator theory
Srivastava, Hari M.harimsri@uvic.ca
250-472-5313
DTB A448
Real and complex analysis, fractional calculus and its applications, integral equations and transforms, higher transcendental functions and their applications, q-Series and q-Polynomials, analytic number theory
top of page

Adjuncts

NameContactResearch interests
Currie, Jamesj.currie@uwinnipeg.ca

Dejean's conjecture, Abelian patterns.
Moody, Robertrmoody@uvic.ca

Theory of Lie groups and Lie algebras, vertex operator representations, aperiodic order as manifested in quasicrystals.
top of page

Postdoctoral fellows

NameContactSupervisor
top of page

PhD students

NameContactSupervisor
Chart, Sethschart@uvic.ca
250-721-7465
DTB A555
Bose
Siefken, Jasonsiefkenj@uvic.ca
250-721-7465
DTB A555
Quas
Williamson, Peterpwilliam@uvic.ca
250-472-5191
DTB A527
Putnam
top of page

Master's students

NameContactSupervisor
Cecil, Anthonyajcecil@uvic.ca
250-853-3289
DTB A434
Sourour
Churchill, Samuelsamuelch@uvic.ca
250-853-3289
DTB A434
Budney
Halverson-Duncan, Brittanybghalver@uvic.ca
250-472-5691
DTB A457
Emerson, Putnam
Horan, Josephjahoran@uvic.ca
250-853-3289
DTB A434
Bose, Quas
top of page
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Return to secondary navigation.
Return to page content.