2016-2017 Student Elections Results to the Board of Governors and the Senate

The call for nominations to fill vacancies for student representatives to the Board of Governors and the Senate closed on February 1, 2016. Ten nominations were received for the Board of Governors and twenty-two nominations were received for the Senate. Elections were held March 2-4, 2016 with the results listed below.

For the Board of Governors, the following candidates were elected:

  • Sara Maya Bhandar
  • Ben Lukenchuk

For the Senate, only one nomination was received from each of the Faculties of Engineering, Fine Arts, Law and Science. Two nominations were received from the Faculty of Graduate Studies. The following candidates were acclaimed:

  • Dheeraj Alamchandani
  • Andrew Lemieux
  • Samual Maroney
  • Bernadette Peterson
  • Cory Shankman
  • Ann-Bernice Thomas

No nominations were received for students from the Faculties of Education and Human and Social Development. There is one vacant position in the Faculty of Graduate Studies. Representatives from these faculties will be sought through by-election later in the year.

The remaining student positions on Senate were filled through an election held March 2-4, 2016. The following candidates were elected to the Senate:

  • Alicia Armstrong
  • Paige Bennett
  • Michelle Brown
  • Zoë-Blue Coates
  • Ben Lukenchuk
  • Brontë Renwick-Sheilds
  • Susan Timayo

Download the PDF to see the full results.