

The Senate Committee on Learning and Teaching shall:

- 1. Advise Senate on the university's learning and teaching environment and recommend measures, which are designed to enhance the university's learning and teaching environment;
- 2. Assist and advise Senate, after due consultation with the faculties and other appropriate units, in the formulation and promotion of effective academic policy in the areas of learning and teaching, within the context of university policies and negotiated agreements;
- 3. Respond to specific requests from the Senate, other senate standing committees, or from other groups or individuals within the university community (students, instructors, faculty and staff) when referred through the Senate to the committee;
- 4. Obtain information from and consult broad sources internal and external to the university as appropriate to deal with issues brought before the committee; and
- 5. Maintain close liaison and collaborate with the Executive Director of the Learning and Teaching Centre, and others on campus who contribute to the quality of learning and teaching at the university in support of key learning and teaching issues at the university.

Senate standing and *ad hoc* committee meetings are normally closed and the discussions and meeting documents are considered confidential.

## **Composition**

- 10 faculty members representing the faculties (at least 2 of whom shall be senators) (voting)
- 1 representative from the Division of Continuing Studies (voting)
- 5 students including 2 student members of Senate, 2 undergraduate student representatives and 1 graduate student representative (voting)
- 1 convocation member of Senate (voting)
- 1 Alumni Association representative (voting)
- 1 Librarian selected by the Faculty Association Librarians Committee (FALC) (voting)
- University Librarian or designate (*ex officio*, voting)
- President or nominee (*ex officio*, voting)
- Associate Vice President Academic Programs (*ex officio*, non-voting)
- Chief Information Officer or designate (*ex officio*, non-voting)
- Executive Director, Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (*ex officio*, non-voting)
- Executive Director or designate, Co-operative Education & Career Services, (*ex officio*, non- voting)

Total membership = 25 (21 voting members)

The secretary of the committee is the Associate University Secretary.

Approved and Revised by Senate: October 10, 1973 February 2, 1994 May 4, 2007 January 9, 2015 May 5, 2017 October 1, 2021 April 4, 2025