

Senate Committee on Learning and Teaching



Date: November 18, 2020

To: Senate

From: Senate Committee on Learning and Teaching

Re: 2019/2020 Annual Report

The Terms of Reference for the Senate Committee on Learning and Teaching define its scope and relationship with Senate and other Senate committees. Each spring, the committee presents an annual report to Senate on its business and proceedings over the previous academic year.

The Senate Committee on Learning and Teaching met on October 10, 2019, December 2, 2019, and February 5, 2020. Over the year, the committee considered a variety of issues:

Student Enrollment Management (SEM) Goals Teaching Excellence Course Experience Survey

At its October meeting, committee members heard from Mr. Jim Dunsdon, Associate Vice-President Student Affairs, on the university's Student Enrollment Management (SEM) goals and the consultation plan as targets are implemented. He noted that the Enhanced Planning Tools goals were being reviewed as part of the process. Committee members discussed ranking and reputation, Indigenous student enrollment, graduate student enrollment, and the admission criteria to consider broader ways to indicate student strength to a balance with student health and wellness

The committee reviewed a briefing paper on Teaching Excellence from Dr. Laurene Sheilds and the Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation (LTSI).

The work of the subcommittee on Course Experience Survey continued throughout the year with regular updates at each of the committee meetings.

Committee Evaluation Summary Learning Management Systems

At its December meeting, committee members reviewed the responses from the previous committee evaluation summary and discussed possible revisions to the committee Terms of Reference.

The committee also participated in an interactive tour of the university's learning technology ecosystem, led by representatives from Technology Integrated Systems. At the same meeting, committee members engaged in a discussion on questions related to the Learning Management System at UVic:

- How do you currently use CourseSpaces, and what works well for you?
- What are your current frustrations? What would you like?
- What would improve the student/instructor experience
- What are complementary education technologies

Course Experience Survey Academic Concessions Consultation

At its February meeting, committee members heard from Mr. Tony Eder, Executive Director, Academic Resource Planning, on how the university implements its quality assurance mechanisms and the directions taken at other institutions across the country related to ranking and the Course Experience Survey. Committee members had a robust discussion on the use of the survey within UVic and at other institutions across Canada.

At this meeting, committee members reviewed the report from the sub-committee on the Course Experience Survey and agreed on the recommendations for revisions to Senate.

Committee members also provided feedback on the proposed revisions to the Academic Concessions Regulations and guidelines.

Report from the Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation
The committee received regular updates from the Executive Director of Learning and
Teaching Support and Innovation on the major initiatives undertaken by the unit.

Respectfully submitted,

2020/2021 Senate Committee on Learning and Teaching

Michael McGuire, Chair, Faculty of Engineering

Chandra Beaveridge, Convocation Senator

Tina Bebbington, Libraries

Elizabeth Borycki, Faculty of Human and Social

Erin Campbell, Faculty of Fine Arts

Denise Cloutier, Faculty of Social Sciences

Jason Colby, Faculty of Humanities

Elizabeth Giesbrecht, UVSS representative

Robyn Giffen, Student Senator

Andrea Giles, Acting Executive Director, Cooperative Education & Career Services

Justin Harrison, University Librarian Designate

Robin Hicks, Acting Associate Vice-President Academic Planning (President's nominee)

Brian Leacock, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business

Cedric Littlewood, Faculty of Graduate Studies

Wency Lum, Chief Information Officer

Scott McIndoe, Faculty of Science

Mariel Miller, Technology Integrated Learning

Ry Moran, University Librarian designate

Dipayan Nag, UVSS representative

Tim Richards, Faculty of Law

Antoine Rose, GSS representative

Laurene Sheilds, Executive Director, Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation

Laura Vizina, Division of Continuing Studies

Juliet Watts, Student Senator

Jennifer Whately, Alumni Association

Ada Saab (Secretary), Associate University Secretary

2019/2020 Senate Committee on Learning and Teaching

Erica Woodin, Chair, Faculty of Social Sciences Hannah Ahluwalia, UVSS representative Chandra Beaveridge, Convocation Senator

Tina Bebbington, Libraries

Jason Colby, Faculty of Humanities

Brian Leacock, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business

Andrea Giles, Acting Executive Director, Cooperative Education and Career Services

Jonathan Granirer, UVSS representative

Justin Harrison, University Librarian Designate

Mehdi Hashemi, GSS representative

Rory Hills, Student Senator

Megan Ingram, Student Senator

Mark Laidlaw, Faculty of Science

Susan Lewis, Associate Vice-President Academic Planning

Cedric Littlewood, Faculty of Graduate Studies

Wency Lum, Chief Information Officer

Michael McGuire, Faculty of Engineering

Mariel Miller, Technology Integrated Learning

Rebecca Raworth, MacPherson Library

Tim Richards, Faculty of Law

Laurene Sheilds, Executive Director, Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation

Laura Vizina, Division of Continuing Studies

Rebecca Warburton, Faculty of Human and Social Development

Jennifer Whately, Alumni Association

Ada Saab (Secretary), Associate University Secretary