

Senate Committee on Curriculum



Date: 12 September 2022

To: Senate

From: Senate Committee on Curriculum

Re: 2021-2022 Annual Report

The Terms of Reference for the Senate Committee on Curriculum define its scope and relationship with Senate and other Senate committees. Annually in October, the committee presents a report to Senate on its business and proceedings over the previous academic year.

The Senate Committee on Curriculum met three times in during 2021-22: C1 (10 December 2021); C2 (11 March 2022); C3 (26 August 2022).

The committee considered a number of issues over the course of the year:

- Primarily, there was the regular business of the assessment and approval of curriculum change submissions, to proceed to Senate. The Committee assessed 867 submissions over the three Cycles (477, 385, 5), which is slightly lower than previous years.
- Special topics courses: discussion around the current uses of topics courses and possible future usages occurred. The committee determined that no action should be taken regarding special topics courses until future usage scenarios have been evaluated.
- Revision of policy AC1120: work to update curriculum policy has been ongoing, with discussions occurring at multiple SCC meetings.
- Management of back to back cycles: it was determined that back to back cycles will permitted on a limited basis, as they may involve changing content that has not yet been approved by Senate.
- Consultation requirements: ongoing confusion around consultation processes was observed. The SCC Chair and AVPAP offered a session for FCC Chairs to discuss consultation and other process issues.

Respectfully submitted,

2022-2023 Senate Committee on Curriculum

Adam Con, Chair, Faculty of Fine Arts
Gary MacGillivray, Vice Chair, Vice-President Academic and Provost's
Designate
Eva Baboula, Faculty of Fine Arts
Stephen Evans, Faculty of Graduate Studies
Chelsey Evans, Co-operative Education & Career Services
Chris Graham, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business
Nicole Greengoe, Registrar

LillAnne Jackson, Faculty of Engineering

Sara Henderson, UVic Acting Calendar Coordinator

Matsuko Friedland, Student Senator

Geoffrey Loomer, Faculty of Law

Michele Martin, Division of Medical Sciences

Adam Monahan, Faculty of Science

Maureen Ryan, Faculty of Human and Social Development

Reuben Rose-Redwood, Faculty of Social Sciences

Ada Saab, Associate University Secretary

Lisa Surridge, Faculty of Humanities

Paul Whitinui, Faculty of Education

Asia Longphee (Secretary), Acting Director, Curriculum and Calendar

2021-2022 Senate Committee on Curriculum

Adam Con, Chair, Faculty of Fine Arts

Gary MacGillivray, Vice Chair, Vice-President Academic and Provost's Designate

Eva Baboula, Faculty of Fine Arts

Andrea Giles, Co-operative Education & Career Services

Stephen Evans, Faculty of Graduate Studies

Chris Graham, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business

Nicole Greengoe, Registrar

Rishi Gupta, Faculty of Engineering

Sara Henderson, UVic Acting Calendar Editor

Sabrina Jackson, Associate Registrar

Yasmine Kandil, Senate Committee on Academic Standards

Nicole Kent, Student Senator

Michelle Lawrence, Faculty of Law

Michele Martin, Division of Medical Sciences

Adam Monahan, Faculty of Science

Reuben Rose-Redwood, Faculty of Social Sciences

Maureen Ryan, Faculty of Human and Social Development

Ada Saab, Associate University Secretary

Lisa Surridge, Faculty of Humanities

Paul Whitinui, Faculty of Education

Asia Longphee (Secretary), Acting Director, Curriculum and Calendar