

Senate Committee on Curriculum



Date: 8 September 2021

To: Senate

From: Senate Committee on Curriculum

Re: 2020-2021 Annual Report

The Terms of Reference for the Senate Committee on Curriculum define its scope and relationship with Senate and other Senate committees. Annually in October, the committee presents a report to Senate on its business and proceedings over the previous academic year.

The Senate Committee on Curriculum met three times during 2020-21: C1 (7 December 2020); C2 (11 March 2021); C3 (27 August 2021). The committee considered a number of issues over the course of the year:

- Primarily, there was the regular business of the assessment and approval of curriculum change submissions, to proceed to Senate. The Committee assessed 1,110 submissions over the three Cycles (481, 587, 42), which is consistent with previous years.
- A project was undertaken to ensure joint undergraduate-graduate courses had the correct notes regarding "ALSO", MX and supplemental notes.
- During a review of the ASL certificate, a question arose regarding the use of the term 'native' speaker/language especially when reviewing the term "Native American Sign Language." After consultation, it was determined that using the term "first-language" would provide greater clarity. Curriculum and Calendar have updated all references of 'native' to 'first-language' within the Faculty of Humanities.

2021/2022 Senate Committee on Curriculum

Adam Con, Chair, Faculty of Fine Arts Gary MacGillivray, Vice Chair, Vice-President Academic and Provost's Designate, Faculty of Science Sabrina Jackson, Associate Registrar Yasmine Kandil, Senate Committee on Academic Standards, Eva Baboula, Faculty of Fine Arts Andrea Giles, Co-operative Education & Career Services Chris Graham, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business Nicole Greengoe, Registrar Nicole Kent, Student Senator Rishi Gupta, Faculty of Engineering Maureen Ryan, Faculty of Human and Social Development Michelle Lawrence, Faculty of Law Sara Henderson, UVic Calendar Editor Michele Martin, Division of Medical Sciences Paul Whitinui, Faculty of Education Reuben Rose-Redwood, Faculty of Social Sciences Ada Saab, Associate University Secretary Lisa Surridge, Faculty of Humanities Stephen Evans, Faculty of Graduate Studies Asia Longphee (Secretary), Office of the Registrar

2020/2021 Senate Committee on Curriculum

Robin Hicks, Vice-Chair, Faculty of Science Laurie Barnas, Associate Registrar Neil Burford, Chair, Senate Committee on Academic Standards Adam Con, Faculty of Fine Arts Gordon Fulton, Designate for Vice-President Academic & Provost Andrea Giles, Co-operative Education & Career Services Chris Graham, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business Nicole Greengoe, Registrar Navinder Hundal, Student Senator LillAnne Jackson, Faculty of Engineering Sabrina Jackson, Director, Graduate Admission and Records Donna Jeffery, Faculty of Human and Social Development Freya Kodar, Faculty of Law Asia Longphee, UVic Calendar Editor Gary MacGillvray, President's Nominee Michele Martin, Division of Medical Sciences Catherine McGregor, Faculty of Education Nilanjana Roy, Faculty of Social Sciences Ada Saab, Associate University Secretary Lisa Surridge, Faculty of Humanities

Jennifer White, Faculty of Graduate Studies

Rachel Strandquist(Secretary), Office of the Registrar