

Senate Committee on Curriculum



Date: 9 September 2020

To: Senate

From: Senate Committee on Curriculum

Re: 2019-2020 Annual Report

The Terms of Reference for the Senate Committee on Curriculum define its scope and relationship with Senate and other Senate committees. Annually in October, the committee presents a report to Senate on its business and proceedings over the previous academic year.

The Senate Committee on Curriculum met three times during 2019-20: C1 (9 December 2019); C2 (13 March 2020); C3 (28 August 2020). The committee considered a number of issues over the course of the year:

- Primarily, there was the regular business of the assessment and approval of curriculum change submissions, to proceed to Senate. The Committee assessed 1,110 submissions over the three Cycles (481, 587, 42), which is consistent with previous years.
- The implementation of Kuali Curriculum Management. The software provides a database of calendar content and a workflow for managing curriculum proposals. The project was successfully completed and used for the preparation and review of proposals in all three Cycles.
- A project was undertaken to ensure style consistency in course descriptions in the Calendar.
- There was continued discussion with AVPAP to improve the consultation between that office, academic units and SCC regarding changes to the required courses in programs.
- A Calendar-wide revision to change ENGL 101 to ATWP 101 and ENGL 135 to ATWP 135.

Additionally, the committee provided feedback and support during the production of the new, online version of the Calendar (May 2020 onwards), which features: mobile-friendly browsing; improved search; consistent display of course and program requirements; increased accessibility.

The Committee also recognized the contributions of out-going Chair, Tim Haskett, and thanked him for his dedication to the committee over the years.

Respectfully submitted,

2020/2021 Senate Committee on Curriculum

Robin Hicks, Vice-Chair, Faculty of Science Laurie Barnas, Associate Registrar Neil Burford, Chair, Senate Committee on Academic Standards Adam Con, Faculty of Fine Arts Gordon Fulton, Designate for Vice-President Academic & Provost Andrea Giles, Co-operative Education & Career Services Chris Graham, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business Nicole Greengoe, Registrar Navinder Hundal, Student Senator LillAnne Jackson, Faculty of Engineering Sabrina Jackson, Director, Graduate Admission and Records Donna Jeffery, Faculty of Human and Social Development Freya Kodar, Faculty of Law Asia Longphee, UVic Calendar Editor Gary MacGillvray, President's Nominee Michele Martin, Division of Medical Sciences Catherine McGregor, Faculty of Education Nilanjana Roy, Faculty of Social Sciences Ada Saab, Associate University Secretary Lisa Surridge, Faculty of Humanities Jennifer White, Faculty of Graduate Studies James Wigginton (Secretary), Office of the Registrar

2019/2020 Senate Committee on Curriculum

James Wigginton (Secretary), Office of the Registrar

Tim Haskett, Chair, Faculty of Humanities Alex Brolo, Faculty of Science Laurie Barnas, Associate Registrar Neil Burford, Chair, Senate Committee on Academic Standards Adam Con, Faculty of Fine Arts Steve Evans, Faculty of Graduate Studies Gordon Fulton, Designate for Vice-President Academic & Provost Andrea Giles, Co-operative Education & Career Services Chris Graham, Peter B. Gustavson School of Business Sarina de Havelyn, Student Senator LillAnne Jackson, Faculty of Engineering Sabrina Jackson, Acting Director, Graduate Admission and Records Freya Kodar, Faculty of Law Asia Longphee, UVic Calendar Editor Gary MacGillvray, President's Nominee Michele Martin, Division of Medical Sciences Catherine McGregor, Faculty of Education Nilanjana Roy, Faculty of Social Sciences Ada Saab, Associate University Secretary Esther Sangster-Gormley, Faculty of Human and Social Development Lisa Surridge, Faculty of Humanities Wendy Taylor, Acting Registrar