

2025-2026 Student Elections Results to the Board of Governors and the Senate

To the Board of Governors - Two (2) Students (1 undergraduate student elected by and from members of the undergraduate students' society and 1 graduate student elected by and from members of the graduate students' society)

To the Senate - Sixteen (16) Students (including at least one student from each faculty and three from the Faculty of Graduate Studies)

The call for nominations to fill vacancies for student representatives to the Board of Governors and the Senate closed on January 17, 2025. Four nominations were received for the Board of Governors and seven nominations were received for the Senate.

For the Board of Governors, the following candidate was acclaimed:

Param Bhatti (graduate)

For the Senate, the following candidates were acclaimed:

Michael Caryk (Faculty of Education)
Cohen Cheetham (Science)
Cole Kennedy (Faculty of Graduate Studies)
Charlie Krueger (Health)
Mackenzie McNiven (Faculty of Graduate Studies)
Eva Thompson (Fine Arts)

For the Board of Governors, an election was required for the Undergraduate Student Representative. The following candidate was elected to the Board of Governors:

The election results are as follows:

	Votes		
Candidate:	Received	Percent	Status
Aarav Aggarwal	118	7.8	
Samantha Allan	569	37.5	Elected
Charlie Krueger	268	17.7	
Artem Kuklev	262	17.3	
Evan Maher	299	19.7	

Number of eligible voters – 17,742 (UVSS members only) Number who voted – 1612 Abstain ballots – 96

Percentage voting – 9.1%



As there were only two nominations received for students from the Faculty of Graduate Studies, a second call for nominations was issued and closed on March 7, 2025. One nomination was received

The following candidate was acclaimed:

Deborah Sharpe (Faculty of Graduate Studies)

The remaining student positions on Senate were filled through an election held March 24-26, 2025. The following candidates were elected to the Senate:

Aarav Aggarwal (Social Sciences)
Daniil Filipovich (Business)
Emily Goodman (Social Sciences)
Logan Hudson(Social Sciences)
Vita Ipiroti (Social Sciences)
May Kong (Humanities)
Artem Kuklev (Social Sciences)
Evan Maher (Engineering and Computer Science)

The election results are as follows:

Candidate	Faculty	Votes	Percent	Status
		Received		
Daniil Filipovich	Business	530	6.9%	Elected
Norman Kaminski	Business	441	5.7%	
Jason Billingsley	Engineering & Comp Sci	454	5.9%	
Evan Maher	Engineering & Comp Sci	788	10.2%	Elected
May Kong	Humanities	835	10.8%	Elected
Oliver Stokes	Humanities	462	6.0%	
Aarav Aggarwal	Social Sciences	744	9.7%	Elected
Lola Farago	Social Sciences	253	3.3%	
Emily Goodman	Social Sciences	1098	14.2%	Elected
Logan Hudson	Social Sciences	686	8.9%	Elected
Vita Ipiroti	Social Sciences	879	11.4%	Elected
Artem Kuklev	Social Sciences	536	7.0%	Elected

Number of eligible voters -20,707 (UVSS and GSS members) Number who voted -1830Abstain ballots -62Percentage voting -8.8%

As there were no candidates running for the Faculty of Law, a third call for nominations will be issued in September 2025.

Note - Students are elected to Senate in a manner that ensures at least one student from each faculty and three students from the Faculty of Graduate Studies are elected. That can mean that a higher number of votes does not always translate to an elected position.