University Systems help centre

Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.

Empty your deleted folder

Deleted emails are not automatically removed from the email server. Instead they are moved into a deleted folder. This is done to prevent accidental deletions. Emails remain on the server until they are either removed from the deleted folder or are purged from the system. To prevent these messages from occupying too much of your disk space, regularly purge your UVic deleted folder.

To empty or "purge" your deleted folder, follow these instructions:

  1. Visit http://webmail.uvic.ca.
  2. Enter your NetLink ID and password
  3. Once logged in, you will see the following links on the left-hand sidebar:



  4. If you have emails in your deleted folder, the (Purge) link next to the deleted folder will be visible. To empty your deleted folder, click on (Purge).
  5. After clicking (Purge), the (Purge) link should disappear, and your deleted items will be permanently erased.