Skip to main content

Find a service or department

Department login

Department of Physics and Astronomy (PHYS)

Contact:
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Victoria
Elliott Building 101
Department of Physics and Astronomy
ELLIOTT BUILDING
Rm. 101
3800 Finnerty Road
Victoria, BC
V8P 5C2
Canada
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Victoria
PO Box 1700 STN CSC
Victoria, BC
V8W 2Y2
Canada
On internet:
Department website:
http://www.phys.uvic.ca

Department Listings:

view summary listing view complete listing
Group/Position Name Telephone Office E-mail
Chair Byoung-Chul Choi 250-721-7698 ELL 103 phastchair@uvic.ca
Assistant to the Chair Kaitlin Gray 250-721-7698 ELL 102 phast@uvic.ca
General Inquiries/Office Assistant 250-721-7700 ELL 101 physgen@uvic.ca
Administrative Officer and Registration Monica Lee-Bonar 250-721-7699 ELL 104 phastao@uvic.ca
Graduate Advisor Pavel Kovtun ELL 110 pkovtun@uvic.ca
Graduate Program Assistant Cindy Kutyn 250-721-7700 ELL 101 physgrad@uvic.ca
Undergrad Advisor: Years 1 & 2 Mark Laidlaw 250-721-7701 ELL 106 phast_advising@uvic.ca
Undergrad Advisor: Years 3 & 4 Bob Kowalewski ELL 204 phast_advising@uvic.ca
System Manager Rolf Seuster 250-721-7729 ELL 119 phys_sysmgr@uvic.ca
Outreach Coordinator Monica Lee-Bonar 250-721-7699 ELL 104 phastao@uvic.ca
Laboratory Coordinator Alexander van Netten 250-721-7709 ELL 114 vannette@uvic.ca
Physics & Astronomy Co-op Coordinator 250-721-7713 BWC A239 scicoop@uvic.ca
VISPA Office McLash Tammy 250-721-7736 ELL 119 vispa@uvic.ca
Graduate Student Association pagsa@uvic.ca
Physics and Astronomy, Co-op Assistnat Kandie Husband 250-721-6122 BWC A239 scico@uvic.ca
Given Name Last Name Telephone E-mail
Hasan Ahmadian Baghbaderani baghbaderani@uvic.ca
Hossain Ahmed hahmed@stfx.ca
Branden Aitken baitken18@gmail.com
Justin Albert 250-721-7742 (campus local: 7742) jalbert@uvic.ca
David Andersen drandersen1@gmail.com
Richard Baartman baartman@triumf.ca
Arif Babul babul@uvic.ca
Thomas E. Baker bakerte@uvic.ca
Magdalena Bazalova 250-721-7704 (campus local: 7704) bazalova@uvic.ca
Wayne Beckham wbeckham@bccancer.bc.ca
Arthur Blackburn 250-721-7703 (campus local: 7703) ablackbu@uvic.ca
John Blakeslee jpb.astro@gmail.com
Simon Blouin sblouin@uvic.ca
Nicolas Braam nbraam@uvic.ca
Alexandre Brolo 250-721-7167 (campus local: 7167) agbrolo@uvic.ca
Kyle Brown kyleb3616@gmail.com
Laura Buchanan laurabuchanan@uvic.ca
Scott Chapman scott.chapman@dal.ca
Charlie Chen chenb@uvic.ca
Erika Chin erika.my.chin@gmail.com
Devika Chithrani devikac@uvic.ca
Byoung-Chul Choi 250-721-7698 (campus local: 7698) bchoi@uvic.ca
Cristina Cordoba ccordoba@uvic.ca
Triana Cornejo trianacorglez@gmail.com
Patrick Cote patrick.cote@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
James Day jamesday1215@gmail.com
Thomas Day Goodacre tdaygoodacre@gmail.com
Aaron Dayton aarondayton87@gmail.com
Leonardo De Albernaz Ferreira leonardo.ferreira.furg@gmail.com
Samuel de Jong 250-721-7735 (campus local: 7735) srdejong@uvic.ca
Rogerio de Sousa 250-721-7712 (campus local: 7712) rdesousa@uvic.ca
Morgan Dehnel
Alison Deng alisonxinchendeng@gmail.com
Pavel Denisenkov 250-721-7739 (campus local: 7739) pavelden@uvic.ca
James Di Francesco 778-350-1510 james.difrancesco@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Iris Dillmann dillmann@triumf.ca
Ruobing Dong rbdong@uvic.ca
Colson Driemel colsond@uvic.ca
Marcus Ebert mebert@uvic.ca
Marielle Eduardo meduardo@uvic.ca
Sara Ellison 250-721-7737 (campus local: 7737) sarae@uvic.ca
Sebastien Fabbro sfabbro@uvic.ca
Laura Ferrarese laura.ferrarese@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Matthew Fitzpatrick 778-689-0750 mrfitzpa@uvic.ca
Michael Flynn michaelflynn13@gmail.com
Dominique Fortin dominique.fortin@bccancer.bc.ca
Erica Franzmann efranzmann@uvic.ca
Wes Fraser westhefras@gmail.com
Isabelle Gagne imgagne@bccancer.bc.ca
Johannes Gemmrich 250-472-5573 (campus local: 5573) gemmrich@uvic.ca
Sahar Gholami Milani sgmilani@uvic.ca
Sahar Gholipourverki sahar@uvic.ca
Mehran Goharian
Colin Goldblatt czg@uvic.ca
Reuven Gordon 250-472-5179 (campus local: 5179) rgordon@uvic.ca
Alexander Gottberg gottberg@triumf.ca
Ann Gower agower@uvic.ca
Kaitlin Gray phast@uvic.ca
Matt Gwilliam matt.n.gwilliam@gmail.com
Zoe Hallman zoehallman3@gmail.com
Kenji Hamano khamano@uvic.ca
Mark Hartz mhartz@triumf.ca
William Harvey wharvey@uvic.ca
Falk Herwig 250-721-7743 (campus local: 7743) fherwig@uvic.ca
Cornelia Hoehr choehr@triumf.ca
Rafi Hoult rhoult@uvic.ca
Pinghui Huang pinghuih@uvic.ca
John Hutchings john.hutchings@nrc.ca
Werner Israel
Kate Jackson kathryn.jackson@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Ryan Jackson ryanjackson@uvic.ca
Jaclyn Jensen jjensen4571@gmail.com
Kristan Jensen kristanj@uvic.ca
Douglas Johnstone doug.johnstone@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca
Tobias Junginger junginger@uvic.ca
Dean Karlen 250-721-6585 (campus local: 6585) karlen@uvic.ca
JJ Kavelaars jjk@uvic.ca
Richard Keeler 250-721-7746 (campus local: 7746) rkeeler@uvic.ca
Oliver Kester 778-828-2834 okester@triumf.ca
Helen Kirk helenkirkastro@gmail.com
Jody Klymak 250-472-5969 (campus local: 5969) jklymak@uvic.ca
Akira Konaka konaka@triumf.ca
Shane Koscielniak
Pavel Kovtun 250-721-7723 (campus local: 7723) pkovtun@uvic.ca
Bob Kowalewski 250-721-6156 (campus local: 6156) kowalews@uvic.ca
Denaisha Kraft denaisha.k@gmail.com
Deae-eddine Krim deaeeddinek@uvic.ca
Leonid Kurchaninov kurchan@triumf.ca
Cindy Kutyn physgrad@uvic.ca
Ania Kwiatkowski aniak@triumf.ca
Mark Laidlaw 250-721-7701 (campus local: 7701) laidlaw@uvic.ca
Dominic Largoza dominic.largoza@gmail.com
Bob Laxdal lax@triumf.ca
Monica Lee-Bonar 250-721-7699 (campus local: 7699) phastao@uvic.ca
Michel Lefebvre 250-721-7706 (campus local: 7706) lefebvre@uvic.ca
Clay Lindsay claylindsay@gmail.com
Peter Loock 250-721-7062 (campus local: 7062) sciedean@uvic.ca
Andrew Macdonald andym@uvic.ca
Brendan Mackey bmack1881@gmail.com
Andrew MacRae macrae@uvic.ca
Christian Marois cmarois@uvic.ca
Travis Martin travismartin@uvic.ca
Brenda Matthews bcm@uvic.ca
Alan McConnachie alan@uvic.ca
David Mckeen mckeen@uvic.ca
Douglas McKenzie 250-721-6584 (campus local: 6584) dmckenzi@uvic.ca
Tammy McLash tmclash@uvic.ca
Robert McPherson 604-505-5322 rmcphers@uvic.ca
Eric Mefford ericmefford@uvic.ca
Tony Mestrovic amestrov@uvic.ca
Caleb Miller calebmiller@uvic.ca
Adam Monahan 250-472-5075 (campus local: 5075) monahana@uvic.ca
David Morrissey dmorri@triumf.ca
Julio Navarro 250-721-6644 (campus local: 6644) jfn@uvic.ca
Kieren O'Neil kierenoneil@gmail.com
Arthur Olin olin@triumf.ca
Afif Omar aafif@uvic.ca
Eliza Partridge epartridge@uvic.ca
Maddie Perry maddieperry01442@gmail.com
Thomas Planche tplanche@triumf.ca
Maxim Pospelov 250-721-5346 (campus local: 5346) pospelov@uvic.ca
Katherine Prestridge
Rob Rempel 250-721-7717 (campus local: 7717) drempel@uvic.ca
Elisa Resconi
Michael Reynolds mreynolds3@bccancer.bc.ca
Adam Ritz 250-721-7731 (campus local: 7731) aritz@uvic.ca
Manuel Rodriguez Vega manuel.rodriguez@bccancer.bc.ca
Michael Roney 250-721-7705 (campus local: 7705) mroney@uvic.ca
Cassandra Rosa ckrosa@uvic.ca
Sandhya Rottoo sandhya.rottoo@mail.mcgill.ca
Christopher Ruiz ruiz@triumf.ca
Heather Russell hrussell@uvic.ca
Thomas Ruth truth6@uvic.ca
Vida Saeedzadeh vidasaeedzadeh@uvic.ca
Ash Samra mamokshsamra@gmail.com
Owen Sandner owensandner@gmail.com
Alexander Schmid 250-721-6521 (campus local: 6521) aschmid@uvic.ca
Federico Sestito sestitof@uvic.ca
Alexei Sibidanov sibid@uvic.ca
Luc Simard simardl@uvic.ca
Randall Sobie 250-721-7733 (campus local: 7733) rsobie@uvic.ca
Geoffrey Steeves gsteeves@uvic.ca
Peter Stetson 250-721-7700 (campus local: 7700)
Tristan Sullivan tssulliv@uvic.ca
Dhwani Sutariya dhwanisutariya2@gmail.com
Jeremy Tatum jtatum@uvic.ca
Sam Taylor s.taylor1484@gmail.com
Hossen Teimoorinia hossteim@uvic.ca
Isabel Trigger itrigger@triumf.ca
Amith Valath amithsanthosh2003@gmail.com
Alexander van Netten 250-721-7709 (campus local: 7709) vannette@uvic.ca
Don Vandenberg vandenbe@uvic.ca
Sankar Venkataraman sankar.venkataraman@bccancer.bc.ca
Kim Venn 250-472-5182 (campus local: 5182) kvenn@uvic.ca
Jean-Pierre Veran jveran@uvic.ca
Milton Wang 250-721-8821 (campus local: 8821) phwang@uvic.ca
Weiqi Wang weiqiwang@uvic.ca
Derek Wells 250-519-5629 dwells@bccancer.bc.ca
Peggy White 250-721-7736 (campus local: 7736) pwhite@uvic.ca
Jon Willis 250-721-7740 (campus local: 7740) jwillis@uvic.ca
Bennett Winnicky-Lewis bennettwinnickylewis@gmail.com
Stephenson Yang 250-853-3695 (campus local: 3695) syang@uvic.ca
Sergei Zavgorodni szavgorodni@bccancer.bc.ca
Welcome Centre -historic
Central Services Central Services
Centre for Accessible Learning Centre for Accessible Learning
Centre for Biomedical Rsrch Centre for Biomedical Research
Centre Early Child Res & Polic Centre for Early Childhood Research and Policy
Centre for Forest Biology Centre for Forest Biology
Centre for Global Studies Centre for Global Studies
Centre for Studies in Rel/Soc Centre for Studies in Religion & Society
Centre for Youth & Society Centre for Youth & Society
Curriculum and Calendar Curriculum and Calendar
Cultural, Sociall&Poltcl Thght Department of Cultural, Social and Political Thought
Gender Studies Department of Gender Studies
Germanic & Slavic Studies Department of Germanic & Slavic Studies
Electr Textual Cultures Lab Electronic Textual Cultures Laboratory
FMGT Carpenter Shop FMGT Carpenter Shop
HSD Research Centre Faculty of Human & Social Development Research Centre
Intl Centre for Students International Centre for Students
Lexico Centre for Cndn Engl Lexico Centre for Cndn Engl
Office of the General Counsel Office of the General Counsel
UVic Family Centre UVic Family Centre
Can. Cntr. Climate Modelling Canadian Centre for Climate Modelling and Analysis
Adv Materials & Technology Centre for Advanced Materials & Technology
Advising-Education Centre for Advising-Education
Asia-Pacific Initiatives Centre for Asia-Pacific Initiatives
Business & Industry Devlmnt Centre for Business & Industry Development
Coop & Community Based Economy Centre for Co-operative & Community-Based Economy
CIRCLE Centre for Indigenous Research and Community-Led Engagement
Humanities Computing Humanities Computing and Media Centre
Cntr Enterprise & Engagement Ocean Networks Canada Centre for Enterprise and Engagement
DO NOT USE - SLLC School of Languages, Linguistics, and Cultures
University Cntr Auditorium University Centre Auditorium
Victoria Subatomic Physics Victoria Subatomic Physics and Accelerator Research Centre
Academic and Admin Services Academic Services & Administrative Services
Technology Solutions Centre (TSC)
Academic and Admin Services Academic Services & Administrative Services
Technology Solutions Centre
Advising-Hum,Sci and Sosc Advising-Hum,Sci and Sosc
Assistant Registrar, Academic Advising Centre
Athletcs&Recreatnl Services Athletics & Recreational Services
CARSA Climbing Centre
Asia-Pacific Initiatives Centre for Asia-Pacific Initiatives
Program and Centre Staff
Centre for Global Studies Centre for Global Studies
Survivor-Centred Visual Narratives project
Centre for Global Studies Centre for Global Studies
Centre for Global Studies
Centre for Studies in Rel/Soc Centre for Studies in Religion & Society
Centre for Studies in Religion and Society
Biochemistry & Microbiology Department of Biochemistry & Microbiology
UVic Genome BC Proteomics Centre
Biology Department of Biology
Bamfield Marine Sciences Centre
Computing Services Department of Computing Services
Associate Director, Data Centre Services
Continuing Studies Division of Continuing Studies
English Language Centre
Continuing Studies Division of Continuing Studies
English Language Centre
Div L & T Support Innovation Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation
Manager, Math & Stats Assistance Centre
Div L & T Support Innovation Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation
Centre for Academic Communication Manager
Div L & T Support Innovation Division of Learning and Teaching Support and Innovation
Math & Stats Assistance Centre Program Coordinator
Human & Social Devlmnt Faculty of Human and Social Development
Faculty Grant Officer, HSD Research Centre
Human & Social Devlmnt Faculty of Human and Social Development
Team Lead, HSD Research Centre
Law Faculty of Law
Law Centre Staff Social Worker
Law Faculty of Law
Law Centre Clinic Administrator
Law Faculty of Law
Clinical Director of The Law Centre
Law Faculty of Law
Law Centre Clinical Instructor
Intl Centre for Students International Centre for Students
International Centre for Students
Intl Centre for Students International Centre for Students
International Centre for Students
Libraries, McPherson Library Libraries, McPherson Library
Mearns Centre for Learning / McPherson Library
Libraries, Systems Services Libraries, Systems Services
Digitization Centre
Registrar & Enrolment Mgmt Office of the Registrar and Enrolment Management
Academic Advising Centre (Humanities, Science & Social Sciences)
Registrar & Enrolment Mgmt Office of the Registrar and Enrolment Management
Please see Academic Advising Centre Directory for complete listing
Registrar & Enrolment Mgmt Office of the Registrar and Enrolment Management
Assistant Registrar, Academic Advising Centre
Business Peter B. Gustavson School of Business
Centre for Social and Sustainable Innovation (CSSI)
PEA - Prof Employees Assn Professional Employees Association
University Centre
PEA - Prof Employees Assn Professional Employees Association
Ocean Networks Canada: Marine Technology Centre
Resrch Partner &Knowl Mobilizn Research Partnerships & Knowledge Mobilization
Coast Capital Innovation Centre
Resrch Partner &Knowl Mobilizn Research Partnerships & Knowledge Mobilization
FAX - Coast Capital Innovation Centre
Student Development & Success Student Development and Success
Centre for Accessible Learning
Student Development & Success Student Development and Success
International Centre for Students
UVic Students' Society UVic Students' Society
Gender Empowerment Centre
University Cntr Auditorium University Centre Auditorium
Ticket Centre Coordinator
University Cntr Auditorium University Centre Auditorium
UVic Ticket Centre
University Health Services University Health Services
Student Welcome Team
University Systems University Systems
Technology Solutions Centre (TSC)
University Systems University Systems
Technology Solutions Centre (TSC)