Award deadlines & details

< Back to all award deadlines & details

Lawson Medal

Deadline: January 31

Additional information

The Lawson Medal is awarded annually in two categories of eligibility:

  1. Recognition of a single outstanding contribution to botanical knowledge (monograph, book or series of papers) by a Canadian botanist at any stage of his career, and
  2. Recognition of cumulative, lifetime contributions to Canadian botany by a senior researcher, teacher or administrator.

Nominations may be in either category and should be sent to the current President of the Association. Nominations should include the Curriculum Vitae of the nominee, a statement by the nominator concerning the nominee's contribution's to Canadian Botany, and at least three supporting letters from botanists who are familiar with the achievements of the nominee. Nominations for the Lawson Medal to be awarded at the next Annual Meeting, should be submitted to the President of CBA/ABC before the end of January of the year in which the Award is to be presented.

UVic Recipients