Award deadlines & details

< Back to all award deadlines & details

CAHS Fellowship

Deadline: March

Additional information

The Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS) works in partnership with the Royal Society of Canada and the Canadian Academy of Engineering to form the three Member Academies of the Council of Canadian Academies. The academy recognizes the full breadth of academic health science ranging from fundamental science to social science and population health. Fellows elected to the Academy will be well recognized by their peers nationally and internationally for their contributions to the promotion of health science. They will have demonstrated leadership, creativity, distinctive competencies and a commitment to advance academic health science.

Such individuals are elected to the organization after a nominating and peer review procedure that seeks to recognize those who are marked by a record of substantial accomplishment. At the time of election, Fellows must be Canadian citizens or have been Canadian residents for the preceding three years. Election to Fellowship in the Academy is considered one of the highest honours for individuals in the Canadian health sciences community and carries with it a covenant to serve the Academy and the future well being of the health sciences irrespective of the Fellow’s specific discipline.

University of Victoria recipients include:

  • Dr. Cecilia Benoit (Sociology), 2013
  • Dr. Christoph Borchers (Biochemistry and Microbiology), 2013
  • Dr. Elizabeth Borycki (Health Information Science), 2018
  • Dr. Neena Chappell (Sociology), 2013
  • Dr. Scott Hofer (Psychology), 2013
  • Dr. Andre Kushniruk (Health Information Science), 2014
  • Dr. Francis Lau (Health Information Science), 2014
  • Dr. Bonnie Leadbeater (Psychology), 2014
  • Dr. Ryan Rhodes (Exercise Science, Physical and Health Education), 2017
  • Dr. Irving Rootman (HSD)
  • Dr. Kelli Stajduhar (Nursing), 2017
  • Dr. Timothy Stockwell (Centre for Addictions Research BC), 2012