Award deadlines & details

< Back to all award deadlines & details

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Deadline: May 15

Additional information

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is presented every year. The award money is SEK 5 million, making it the largest international children's and young adult literature award in the world. The award total indicates that reading by children and young adults is extremely important. The total is also intended to inspire anyone involved in children's literature.

The award is presented to authors, illustrators, oral storytellers and reading promoters. The award may be presented to a single laureate or to several, regardless of language or nationality.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is administered by the Swedish Arts Council.