IALH staff

The Institute on Aging and Lifelong Health, formerly the Centre on Aging, was established in 1992 at the University of Victoria. In 2002 the Ladner site satellite office was established in Delta, BC with a primary focus on self-management programs for persons experiencing chronic health conditions.

Victoria site

Victoria site
The creation of a multidisciplinary, university-based research centre was initiated in 1987. The Centre on Aging updated its name to the Institute on Aging and Lifelong Health in 2016 to highlight the interdisciplinary work of affiliates in the social, behavioral, and health sciences to improve health and well-being across the lifespan. The Victoria site currently reside at Hut-R at the University of Victoria.

General inquiries
Phone: 250-721-6369
Fax: 250-472-6499
Email: aging@uvic.ca

Name

Title

Phone

Email

Ami Bitschy

Project Coordinator

250-721-6674

amice@uvic.ca

Paul Brewster

Neuropsychologist, CHI

250-472-4470

pbrew@uvic.ca

Neena Chappell

Professor Emeritus, SOCI

250-472-4465

nlc@uvic.ca 

Denise Cloutier

Research Affiliate

250-721-6289

dcloutier@uvic.ca

Erin Donald

Graduate Student

n/a

donalde@uvic.ca

Carren Dujela

Project Coordinator, 

Palliative Care & End of Life Team

250-472-4464

learn@uvic.ca

Ashleigh Enright

Administrative Assistant

250-721-6369

aging@uvic.ca

Harjot Grewal

Research Coordinator, VADAC

250-472-5239

hkg@uvic.ca

Suzana Hedji

Finance Administrator

250-721-6290

IALHFinance@uvic.ca

Scott Hofer

Director

250-721-6350

ialhdirector@uvic.ca

Andrea Mellor

Graduate Student

n/a

amellor@uvic.ca

Jo Ann Miller

Research Manager

250-472-5269

IALHResearch@uvic.ca

Ashley Mollison

Project Coordinator

250-472-5501

mollison@uvic.ca

Leah Potter

Institute Administrator

250-721-6575

IALHAdmin@uvic.ca

Kaitlyn Roland

Research Associate

n/a

kroland@uvic.ca

Arlene Senft

Finance Support

n/a

asenft@uvic.ca

Kelli Stajduhar

Research Affiliate

250-721-7487

kis@uvic.ca

Stacey Voll

Project Coordinator

250-721-6368

svoll@uvic.ca

Ladner site

Ladner site

In 2002 the Ladner satellite office was established in Delta, BC. A major focus of activity of the Ladner Office is recruiting and training volunteers to deliver self-management programs and training health care professionals to use self-management support strategies when interacting with patients. The Ladner office self-management programs give people the knowledge, skills, and confidence needed to successfully manage chronic health conditions.

For more information on the self-management programs, visit their website here.

General Inquiries
Phone: 604-940-1273
Toll-free: 1-866-902-3767
Email: selfmgmt@uvic.ca

Name

Title

Phone

Email

Jagdev Bains

Coordinator: Punjabi Programs

604-763-6523 

jaybains@uvic.ca

Christine Bramwell

Coordinator: Interior Health

604-946-0521

bramwell@uvic.ca

June Clearsky

Coordinator: Fraser Health North & Aboriginal Liaison

604-940-6950

clearsky@uvic.ca

Mark Davies

Coordinator: Northern Health

 

mvdavies@uvic.ca 

Julieta Gerbrandt

Project Support

604-940-9424

julietag@uvic.ca

Brenda Gyurkovics

Project Support

604-940-1273

bgyurkovics@uvic.ca

Karen Hannah

Coordinator: Health Coach Program

604-940-3573

klhannah@uvic.ca

Suzanne Harmandian

Research Support

604-946-0195

suzanneh@uvic.ca

Fran Hensen

Project Lead: VADAC study

250-516-5742

fhensen@uvic.ca

Lisa Herriot

Program Assistant

604-940-8973

lherriot@uvic.ca

Navah Jacobs

Research Assistant

604-940-8926

navahj@uvic.ca

Courtney Kang

Coordinator:  Chinese Programs

604-940-8967

ckang@uvic.ca

Naida Khan

Office Manager

604-940-9796

nkhan@uvic.ca 

Charles Labun

Coordinator: Fraser Health South (Surrey/Delta)

604-940-6585

pclabun@uvic.ca

David Langer

Coordinator: Vancouver Coastal (Vancouver South & Richmond)

604-940-3568

ddlanger@uvic.ca

Sherry Lynch

Research Associate

604-940-3572

slynch@uvic.ca

Patrick McGowan

Associate Director- IALH Ladner Site

604-940-3574

pmcgowan@uvic.ca 

Ginette McLennan

Project Support

604-940-8924

ginettem@uvic.ca

John Murphy

Coordinator: Fraser Health East (Langley to Hope)

604-940-6380

jamurphy@uvic.ca 

Leah Otsig

Coordinator: Vancouver Island 

604-940-3580

lotsig@uvic.ca

Louise Rolland

Coordinator: Vancouver Coastal (Vancouver North, Sea-to-Sky, Sunshine Coast/Powell River); IT Support

604-940-8945

lrolland@uvic.ca 

Shayan Shakeraneh

Research Assistant; IT Support

604-952-0398

sshakeraneh@uvic.ca

Greg Veltman

HCP Program Support

 

gveltman@uvic.ca