Mr. Miles G. Richardson is a citizen of the Haida Nation and Canada. He grew up among his people on Haida Gwaii, attended high school in Prince Rupert, BC, and in 1979 received a Bachelor of Arts in Economics from the University of Victoria. From 1984 to 1996, he served as President of the Council of Haida Nation.
Mr. Richardson was a member of the British Columbia Claims Task Force, which made recommendations to the Government of Canada, Government of British Columbia and First Nations in British Columbia on how the three parties could begin negotiations to build a new relationship and what negotiations should include.
From 1991 to 1993, Mr. Richardson was a member of the First Nations Summit Task Group, an executive body representing First Nations in British Columbia. In October 1995, Mr. Richardson was nominated by the Summit and appointed as a Commissioner to the BC Treaty Commission. He was elected to a second term in April 1997. In November 1998, he was chosen as Chief Commissioner by agreement of Canada, BC and the First Nations Summit for a three-year term and was reappointed in November 2001.
In 2007, Mr. Richardson was named an Officer of the Order of Canada. He was the Co-Chair of the IOG Indigenous Advisory Circle from 2010 to 2013.

Supporting faculty champions

Dr. Brent Mainprize is a Teaching Professor at the University of Victoria Peter B. Gustavson School of Business where he teaches Entrepreneurship and Strategy. He has held entrepreneurial management positions in the telecommunications high tech sector and continues to balance academic and new venture pursuits. He holds an MBA from the University of Victoria in Entrepreneurship and a PhD in Entrepreneurship and Innovation from the Australian Graduate School of Entrepreneurship at Swinburne University in Melbourne, Australia.
Having been deeply engaged with many First Nation Communities in Northwest BC since 1999, Dr. Mainprize has worked extensively on economy prosperity initiatives, entrepreneurship training, and sustainable employment planning and strategies for the Nisga’a Lisims Government (post-Treaty). He had the honour to serve on the Board of Directors of the Nisga’a Commercial Group (2006-2012), and over the past 14 years, he facilitated various sessions on Aboriginal economic development and Aboriginal entrepreneurship in 17 of the North Coast communities.
Dr. Mainprize has had the privilege to be invited into the Aboriginal Communities in Northwest BC to help design two unique programs.  (1) Aboriginal Canadian Entrepreneurs program and (2) Canadian Aboriginal Management Program. Both of these programs are a partnership between Tribal Resource Investment Corporation and UVic’s Gustavson School of Business.
Dr. Mainprize has received two national awards: the 2014 Desire2Learn Innovation Award and Startup Canada’s 2014 Entrpreneurship Educator of the Year Award, and was previously recognized as a “Top 40 Under 40” visionary on Vancouver Island.


Dr. John Borrows, BA, MA, JD, LLM, PhD, LLD,  FRSC is Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Law at the University of Victoria Law School. Prior to joining the Faculty, he was Professor and Robina Chair in Law and Society at the University of Minnesota Law School; Law Foundation Professor of Aboriginal Law and Justice at the UVic Law School; Professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of Toronto; Associate Professor and First Nations Legal Studies Director, Faculty of Law at UBC; and Associate Professor and Director of the Intensive Programme in Lands, Resources and First Nations Governments at Osgoode Hall Law School.

Dr. Borrows has served as a Visiting Professor and Acting Executive Director of the Indian Legal Program at Arizona State University College of Law in Phoenix, and has been a Visiting Professor at Law Faculties in Australia, New Zealand and in many of the United States.

He teaches in the area of Constitutional Law, Indigenous Law, and Environmental Law. Dr. Borrows is a recipient an Aboriginal Achievement Award in Law and Justice, a Fellow of the Trudeau Foundation, a Fellow of the Academy of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada (RSC), and a 2012 recipient of the Indigenous Peoples Counsel (IPC) from the Indigenous Bar Association, for honor and integrity in service to Indigenous communities. John is Anishinabe/Ojibway and a member of the Chippewa of the Nawash First Nation in Ontario, Canada.