Little Dorrit

Little Dorrit issue 1 coverLittle Dorrit is a serial novel by Charles Dickens published originally between 1855 and 1857. It is a work of satire on the shortcomings of the government and society of the period. The novel is divided into two parts, Poverty (issues I-X) and Riches (issues XI-XX).

Much of Dickens' ire is focused upon the institutions of debtors' prisons in which people who owed money were imprisoned, unable to work, until they have repaid their debts. The representative prison in this case is the Marshalsea where the author's own father had been imprisoned.

Browse the Victorian Serial Novels collection

Direct links to each issue of this title:

Book the First: Poverty

Book the Second: Riches 

More about: