Meet our 2017 Library Scholarship Award Winners

We are pleased to formally announce the 2017 winners of our annual UVic Libraries’ student scholarship awards: Rebecca Steel for the David Harris Flaherty Undergraduate Student Library Scholarship, and Rachel Lallouz for the William Petrie Graduate Student Library Scholarship.

Both students competed among a large pool of exceptional applicants, winning their scholarships by demonstrating in a 500 word essay how they have utilized library resources - be they print, archival, music, multimedia, or digital - for a class project, assignment or research paper. Named in honor of donor David Harris Flaherty and bequest donor William Petrie, all students are adjudicated by an internal library committee, and with the assistance of Student Awards and Financial Aid and the University Librarian’s Office. In addition to their $1,000 monetary award, this year’s recipients’ names will be added to the plaques on the main floor of the Mearns Centre for Learning – McPherson Library.

The University of Victoria Libraries is proud to be an essential and integral part of the research and learning at UVic. Our awards recognize and honor the contributions and achievements of all our students, enhancing the sense of personal growth and accomplishment in our academic community.  More information about Rebecca and Rachel, along with links to their award-winning essays can be found at UVic Libraries Grants and Awards webpages. The annual deadline for our student library scholarships is May 31.