3M Student Fellowship Award

3M Student Fellowship winner Hanna Jacobsen

Hanna Jacobsen, Department of Gender Studies and Sociology, 2020 3M Student Fellowship recipient

3M Student Fellowship winner Madeleine Kenyon

Madeleine Kenyon, Department of Philosophy, 2020 3M Student Fellowship recipient

The 3M National Student Fellowship honours up to ten full-time undergraduate students at Canadian institutions who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their lives and at their university. These students embrace a vision of quality education that enhances their academic experience and beyond.

Award recipients receive $5,000, to be spent at their discretion, and are invited to join other award winners at the annual conference of the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE), where they will also participate in a 3M National Student Fellowship Program retreat. Awardees will receive a contribution towards their cost of travel to and accommodation during the conference. While at the conference, they will have the opportunity to develop a cross-Canadian collaborative project with other award winners with the goal of enhancing teaching and learning at the post-secondary level.

Award eligibility

  • Undergraduate students who are enrolled full-time in a post-secondary Canadian institution.
  • Have completed at least one full semester of study at the time of nomination.
  • Have not previously received a 3M student fellowship.
  • Please see Frequently Asked Questions

For further information please visit the STLHE website.

Application process

  • UVic deadline for nominations: TBD at 4:30 PM
  • STLHE deadline for nominations: January 31, 2021

Call for Nominations (PDF)

Application Procedure for UVic Internal Deadline (PDF)

Email application to the  by TBD at 4:30 PM

Past 3M Fellows

Click on a student's name to read their story.

Name Academic department(s) Year
Hanna Jacobsen Gender Studies, Sociology 2020
Madeleine Kenyon Philosophy 2020
Michael Graeme Anthropology, Environmental Studies, Professional Writing, Language and Cultural Proficiency: Spanish 2018
Maxwell Nicholson Economics 2018
Cara Samuel Clinical Psychology 2018
Sarah Khan Biochemistry 2017
Paul Kim Biochemistry 2016
Navarana Smith Biology, Environmental Studies 2015
Tye Landels English 2014