Network for European studies

The EU Study Tour and Internship Program is organized by a consortium of Canadian universities through the Network for European Studies (Canada). The Network for European Studies is an ad hoc consortium of universities whose faculty teach and conduct research in the field of  European studies with emphasis on the EU.  Founded in 2004, the Network's first participating universities and colleges were the University of British Columbia (Institute for European Studies), the University of Victoria (European Studies), and Capilano University (Department of Political Studies). Since that first Study Tour, the Network has grown and is truly pan-Canadian. The EU Study Tour and Internship Program is the largest and most comprehensive program of its kind in Canada and, perhaps, in North America. The University of Victoria provides the administrative and organizational support for the Study Tour and can offer undergraduate credit to any participating student whose institution is not a Network member. 

The Network provides advice on focus, themes, core program as well as matters related to the sponsorship of student participants. For example, the Network advises on internships and student selection. Individual faculty sponsors are responsible for recruitment, selection, and evaluation of their students participating in the Study Tour. The faculty sponsors from the participating institutions (institutes, centres and departments) collectively comprise the Network  

The Board

The Board is responsible for the overall planning of the Study Tour, review of student selection, and review of administration. Members of the Board are Paul Schure (University of Victoria); Joan DeBardeleben (Carleton University); Kurt Huebner (University of BC); Willem Maas (York University), Ruben Zaiotti (Dalhousie University); Robert Schwarzwald (Université de Montréal); and Conrad King (Capilano University). 

Member universities

  • Carleton University
  • Dalhousie University
  • Université de Montréal
  • University of British Columbia
  • University of Victoria
  • York University

Participating universities

  • Bishop's University

  • Capilano University
  • McGill University

  • Queen's University

  • University of Toronto

  • University of Western Ontario
  • Simon Fraser University

  • St. Lawrence University

  • University of Alberta

European partners

  • Université Saint Louis 

  • Bruegel

  • Centre for European Policy Studies

  • Fachhochschule der Deutschen Bundesbank

  • Payoke: NGO Counter Trafficking

  • University of Latvia

  • Canadian Mission to the European Union

  • Delegate General of Québec to the European Union

  • Canadian Embassy to the Netherlands

  • European Commission 

Contacts at network and other participating universities

University Contact person Information
Bishop's University Dr. Trygve Ugland Department of Political and International Studies
819.822.9600 x2398
Capilano University Dr. Conrad King Department of Political Studies
604.986.1911 x7441
Carleton University Dr. Joan DeBerdeleben Institute of European, Russian and Eurasian Studies
Dalhousie University Dr. Ruben Zaiotti Director, European Centre of Excellence  
McGill University Dr. Mark Brawley Department of Political Science
Simon Fraser University Dr. Alexander Moens Dept of Political Science
Université de Montréal Dr. Robert Schwartzwald Chair of English Studies Department
University of Alberta Dr. Lori Thorlakson Department of Political Science
University of British Columbia Dr. Kurt Hübner Institute for European Studies
University of Toronto Katia Malyuzhinets Program Advisor, European Studies
Munk Centre for International Studies
University of Victoria Wendy Swan  European Studies Programme
York University Dr. William Maas Department of Political Science
York University
416.736.2100 x33964
St Lawrence University Dr. Alan Draper