Profiles

Name Expertise

Michael Atkinson, Adjunct Professor

michael.atkinson@usask.ca

Contemporary governance, public administration public policy, political corruption and political ethics, K-12 education policy, fiscal rules and governance

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Herman Bakvis, Adjunct Professor

hbakvis@uvic.ca

Federalism, comparative public policy, party and election financing, minority government, coalition government: implications for governance, policy and intergovernmental relations, governance challenges

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Maria Barnes, Adjunct Assistant Professor

Public sector management

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Carol Bellringer, Adjunct Assistant Professor

Financial statement audits, performance audits and investigations.

Oliver Brandes, Adjunct Assistant Professor

omb@uvic.ca

Political ecology, sound resource management, practical applications of ecological governance, and ecological-based legal and institutional reform

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Tracy Byrne, Adjunct Assistant Professor

tracy.byrne@insideoutresearch.ca

Social and health policy and practice

Natasha Caverley, Adjunct Assistant Professor

natashac@uvic.ca

Organizational development and behavior, career counselling and development and multicultural counselling

Ian Clark, Adjunct Professor 

id.clark@utoronto.ca  

Comparative analysis of professional master’s programs in public administration and public policy, particularly the conceptual content of core curricula.  Providing online open access to MPP and MPA curricular content through the Atlas of Public Management. Higher education policy and funding mechanisms

Erik De Vries, Adjunct Assistant Professor

erikd@uvic.ca

Policy analysis, policy advising, expenditure management and budgetary process, performance and GBA+ assessments.

Norman Dolan, Adjunct Assistant Professor

njdolan@uvic.ca

Dispute resolution, leadership

FGS Associate Member: Student Supervisor

Peter R. Elson, Adjunct Assistant Professor

pelson@uvic.ca

Non-profit (government) policy, management, leadership; social enterprises; and grant-making foundations

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Lynda Gagne, Adjunct Assistant

Professor

lgagne@uvic.ca

Economic analysis of public investments and valuation of environmental assets, and of government policy around food security, sustainable agriculture, and health and social programs.

FGS Associate Member: Student Supervisor

Allison M. Habkirk, Adjunct Assistant Professor

ahabkirk@shaw.ca

Local government management, local govt. land use planning

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Budd HallAdjunct Professor

bhall@uvic.ca

Community-Based participatory research, social responsibility of higher education, knowledge democracy, social movement learning and the UN Sustainable Development Goals

FGS Associate Member: Student Supervisor

Yvonne Harrison, Adjunct Assistant Professor

Yvonne.harrison@uregina.ca

Non-profit leadership, evaluation

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Harish Jagannath, Adjunct Assistant Professor

harish.jagannath@gov.bc.ca

Collaborative governance, policy implementation, bureaucratic politics, street-level bureaucracy, organization theory, strategic planning, performance measurement, policy analysis, and qualitative research methods and data analysis

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Bayla Kolk, Adjunct Assistant Professor

bkolk@uvic.ca

How government works, economic, social and international policies, program delivery, negotiations and government relations, effective change management

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Newman Lam, Adjunct Professor

nmklan@gmail.com

Economic development strategies, performance measurement civil service reform, public budgeting, public pension, information theory and systems

Michael Litchfield, Adjunct Assistant Professor

mlitchfield@thinklabconsulting.com

Dispute resolution, leadership

Nikki Macdonald, Adjunct Assistant Professor

nikkimac65@gmail.com

Ocean policy, transboundary governance, public policy and decision-making, narrative analysis, governance, Canadian politics

FGS Associate Member: Student Supervisor

Jim McDavidAdjunct Professor

jmcdavid@uvic.ca

Program evaluation, performance measurement and performance management, and local government

FGS Associate Member: Student Supervisor

Gordon McIntosh, Adjunct Assistant Professor

Ga.mcintosh@shaw.ca

Local or regional government, public administration, political/administrative relations, strategic thinking, policy or decision making, leadership

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Dean Murdock, Adjunct Assistant Professor

dean.murdock@telus.net

 Local government policies and issues

Victor (Vic) Murray, Adjunct Professor

vmurray@uvic.ca

Non-profit leadership, evaluation

FGS Associate Member: Student Supervisor

Brant Popp, Adjunct Assistant Professor

bpopp@shaw.ca

Policy and program analysis/evaluation, management audit

Terry Poucette, Adjunct Assistant Professor

tpoucette@telus.net 

Traditional Indigenous governance and practices in contemporary Indigenous governance, role of indigenous women in self-governance, decolonization and nation rebuilding, First Nations’ economic development

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Carol-Anne Rolf, Adjunct Assistant Professor

crolf@shaw.ca

Leadership, strategic planning, policy and legislation

Roya Rouzbehani, Adjunct Assistant Professor

royarouzbehani@uvic.ca

Collaborative governance, health policy, sustainable development

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Andy Rowe, Adjunct Assistant Professor

andy@arceconomics.com

Program evaluation

Harry Swain, Adjunct Assistant Professor

swain.h@telus.net

Conduct and management of public inquiries, processes of policy development, Indigenous policy (as seen from federal and provincial perspectives) and finance, environmental assessment, economic aspects of climate change, career management for policy analystsC

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Rajesh Tandon, Adjunct Assistant Professor

Rajesh.tandon@pria.org

Democratic governance, civic engagement, civil society, governance and management of NGOs, participatory research and people-centered development

Co-UNESCO Chair with Budd Hall
Lindsay Tedds, Adjunct Associate Professor

Thea VakilAdjunct Associate Professor

tvakil@uvic.ca

Public administration and policy

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Sam Weller, Adjunct Assistant Professor

Sam.weller@shaw.ca

Public financial management (esp. Local Govt.)

Veda Weselake, Adjunct Assistant Professor

veda@ncf.ca

Indigenous relations, federal government/Indigenous relations

Julie Williams, Adjunct Assistant Professor

julie.williams@gov.bc.ca

julieinvictoria@gmail.com

Law reform, administrative justice sector initiatives, dispute resolution processes, access to justice, and environmental law and policy.

FGS Associate Member: Student Supervisor

David Zussman, Adjunct Professor

dzussman@uvic.ca

Public policy

FGS Associate Member: Student Co-supervisor

Name Expertise

Robert (Bob) L. Bish, PhD Indiana

rbish@uvic.ca

 

James Cutt, PhD UofT

 

A. Rodney (Rod) Dobell, PhD MIT

rdobell@uvic.ca, 250-472-5172 (Centre for Global Studies)

 

John J. Jackson, PhD UofA

jjj1@shaw.ca

 

John Langford, PhD McGill

jlangfor@uvic.ca

 

Rebecca Warburton, PhD (LSE)

Quality, Patient Safety, and Reduction of Error in Health Care; Evidence-Based Medicine; Evidence-Based Public Policy and Healthy Public Policy; Economic Evaluation Methods; Health Care Technology Assessment and Emerging Health Care Technologies; Drug Policy and Costs of Drug Development; Use of Administrative Databases for Policy-Relevant Research; Impact of Medical Premiums and User Fees on Access To Care; Information and Privacy Legislation Provisions Affecting Health Research; Population Health; Socioeconomic Determinants of Health; Child Poverty; Children in Care 

Hartmut (Hart) J. Will, PhD Illinois

hwill@uvic.ca

 

Name Contact Information
Hassan Arif

arif.h9@gmail.com 

Maria Barnes

maria.barnes@servicecanada.gc.ca

Ottilia Berze

 oberze@shaw.ca 

Sean Broadbent 

sbroadbent@uvic.ca

Ryan Bortolin

rbortolin@sms.bc.ca 

Rob Buchan

rbuchan@shaw.ca 

Natasha Caverley

natashac@uvic.ca
Elsie Chan

esfchan@uvic.ca

Derek Cockburn

derek.cockburn@gov.bc.ca

Jennifer Hall

 jkhall@telus.net

Peter Johnson

pjohnson@sms.bc.ca 

Harish Jagannath

 Harish.Jagannath@gov.bc.ca 

Monique Lacerte

Monique.Lacerte@gov.bc.ca

Kristen Mikkelsen

kiri.mikkelsen@gmail.com 

Ellie Parks

eparks@telus.net

Brant Popp

bpopp@shaw.ca

Aureleo Reyes

apreyes@uvic.ca
Roya Rouzbehani

royarouzbehani@uvic.ca

Kathryn Stuart

kstuart@sms.bc.ca

Susanne Thiessen

thiessens@camosun.bc.ca
Brian Vatne

brvatne@gmail.com

Thea Vakil

tvakil@uvic.ca 

Tara Williamson

taraw@uvic.ca