

2011 PIONEER AWARD



Recognizes a major, lasting contribution in the field of interest of MTT-S, published in an archival journal, at least 20 years prior to the year of the award, by an individual or team of up to three (3). This year's recipients are **Wolfgang Hoefer** and **Wojciech Gwark.**

Wolfgang Hoefer

"For pioneering contributions to time domain computational methods, in particular the transmission line matrix (TLM) and finite-difference time domain (FDTD) methods"

Wolfgang J. R. Hoefer (M'71–SM'78–F'91-LF'06) holds a Dipl.-Ing. diploma from the RWTH Aachen, Germany (1965), a D.Ing. degree from the University of Grenoble, France (1968), and a Dr.-Ing. h.c. degree from the TU Munich, Germany (2007). After his first year of independent research and teaching at the University of Grenoble, he joined the University of Ottawa in 1969 as a Faculty member and was Chair of Electrical

Engineering from 1978 to 1981. In 1992 he joined the University of Victoria as a Professor and NSERC Industrial Research Chair in RF Engineering, heading the Computational Electromagnetic Research Laboratory (CERL) until 2006. He also held visiting appointments at the Universities of Grenoble, Rome, Nice, Perugia, Munich and Duisburg, the Ferdinand Braun Institute Berlin, the ETH Zürich, AEG-Telefunken in Backnang, CRC Ottawa, the Institute of High Performance Computing in Singapore, and the Georgia Institute of Technoology in Atlanta. He is the Founder and President of Faustus Scientific Corporation. Since November 2009 he holds a position as Principal Scientist at the A-Star Institute of High Performance Computing in Singapore and is the Director of the IHPC Independent Investigatorship Department. His present research interests are in computational electromagnetics with emphasis on time domain modeling and applications in electronics, plasmonics and high-resolution imaging.

Wolfgang Hoefer is a Fellow of IEEE (1991), the BC Advanced System Institute (1991), the Electromagnetics Academy (MIT, 1992), the Royal Society of Canada (2003), the German Academy of Science and Engineering (ACATECH, 2007), the Canadian Academy of Engineering (2009), and a Life Fellow of IEEE (2006). He was Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques (1998-2000), Managing Editor of the International Journal of Numerical Modelling (1988-2009), Chair and Co-chair of the IEEE MTT-15 Technical Committee on Field Theory (1989 to 2004), and an IEEE MTT Distinguished Microwave Lecturer (2005-2007). Among other distinctions he received the Peter B. Johns Prize (1990), the ACES Mainstay Award (2004), the IEEE MTT Distinguished Educator Award (2006), and the IEEE Canada McNaughton Gold Medal (2009).