2017 Excellence in Teaching Awards

2017 teaching awards
Dr. Valerie D'Erman

Classroom Leaders

The UVic Alumni Association is proud to honour two inspiring classroom leaders with this year's Alumni Awards for Excellence in Teaching. 

Dr. Janni Aragon, director of Technology Integrated Learning, and Dr. Valerie D'Erman, a sessional instructor in the Department of Political Science, each receive $2,000 from the alumni association. 

Read about their achievements here. »

The awards were introduced in 1989 to recognize UVic teaching of the highest calibre.

Aragon received the Harry Hickman Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching and Educational Leadership is for faculty members, artists-in-residence and librarians.

D'Erman was selected for the Gilian Sherwin Alumni Award for Excellence in Teaching is for sessional lecturers, lab instructors and senior lab instructors.