Skip to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.


Return to top of page.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.

Statistics

The department enjoys a strong international profile in both theoretical and applied statistics research. Current areas of specialization in statistics include bioinformatics, biostatistics, Bayesian statistics, capture-recapture models, empirical likelihood theory, industrial statistics, optimal design of experiments, robust statistics, small sample asymptotics, spatial statistics, and statistical ecology. The department has significant external collaborative ties with the Vancouver Island Health Authority, Victoria Hospice, BC Cancer Agency, as well as many on-campus collaborations.

Faculty

NameContactResearch interests
Cowen, Lauralcowen@uvic.ca
250-721-6152
DTB A446
Statistical ecology and capture-recapture models
Lesperance, Marymlespera@uvic.ca
250-721-7461
DTB A449
Statistical inference, biostatistics, industrial statistics
Nathoo, Farouknathoo@uvic.ca
250-472-4693
DTB A545
Spatial statistics, statistical computing; neuroimaging statistics; disease mapping; high-dimensional data; Bayesian methods
Tsao, Minmtsao@uvic.ca
250-721-7460
DTB A544
Empirical likelihood theory, biostatistics and bioinformatics, and small sample asymptotics
Zhou, Juliejzhou@uvic.ca
250-721-7470
DTB A439
Robust statistics, optimal design, statistical computing
top of page

Professors emeritus

NameContactResearch interests
Reed, Billwjreed@uvic.ca
250-472-4928
DTB A418A
Mathematical bioeconomics, resource modelling, optimization models in fisheries and forestry, applied statistics in resource management and biology

Research associates

NameContactSupervisor
Kinniburgh, Susanskinn@uvic.ca

Nathoo, Nelson (Geography)
top of page

PhD students

NameContactSupervisor
Rana, Masudmasud@uvic.ca
250-472-5191
DTB A527
Nathoo
Song, Yinyinsong@uvic.ca
250-472-5312
DTB A534
Nathoo
Wu, Fanfwu@uvic.ca
250-472-5312
DTB A534
Tsao
Yin, Yueyinyue@uvic.ca
250-472-5691
DTB A457
Zhou
top of page

Master's students

NameContactSupervisor
Chen, Xiaozhixiaozhic@uvic.ca
250-472-5198
DTB A418c
Lesperance
Croteau, Nicolencroteau@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Nathoo
Greenlaw, Keelinkgreenl@uvic.ca
250-472-5198
DTB A418c
Lesperance, Nathoo
Hu, Ziyuehuz@uvic.ca
250-721-5198
DTB A418c
Zhou
Huang, Shuohengshuoheng@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Lesperance
Liu, Danqingdanqingl@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Lesperance
Liu, Shang Shangbrianal@uvic.ca
250-472-5198
DTB A418c
Tsao
Mao, Yongfeimaoyf819@uvic.ca
250-472-5691
DTB A457
Cowen
Robert, Bonnie-Jeanbjrobert@uvic.ca
250-472-5691
DTB A457
Tsao
Wang, Lu (Lucy)mollywan@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Cowen, Tsao
Wang, Yu (Lisa)wangyu@uvic.ca
250-472-5691
DTB A457
Cowen
Yu, Xinxinyu@uvic.ca
250-472-5198
DTB A418c
Lesperance
Zhang, Yuyuz@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Tsao
Zhou, Wenjiewzhou@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Zhou, Ye
top of page

Interdisciplinary students

NameContactSupervisor
Hoque, Ahmedaahoque@uvic.ca
250-472-4411
Clarke (Economics), Cowen
top of page
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Return to secondary navigation.
Return to page content.