Skip to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.


Return to top of page.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.

Discrete mathematics

Our discrete mathematics group researches graph theory, algorithms, combinatorial designs, error-correcting codes, and extremal set theory.

We are lucky to enjoy a very visual subject, where geometric structures and coloured labellings often appear. In addition, discrete math has applications to theoretical computer science, electrical engineering, statistics, and biology, not to mention relationships with the rest of mathematics.

The four regular faculty members in our group are joined by a strong group of graduate students, visitors, postdoctoral fellows, adjunct professors, and colleagues from computer science. We hold a weekly seminar and have hosted a range of events, from small workshops to large international conferences.

All in all, UVic is among the top schools in the world for studying discrete mathematics.

Faculty

NameContactResearch interests
Dukes, Peterdukes@uvic.ca
250-472-4272
DTB A525
Combinatorics
Huang, Jinghuangj@uvic.ca
250-721-7447
DTB A549
Graph theory, algorithms and complexity
MacGillivray, Garygmacgill@uvic.ca
250-721-7448
DTB A442
Discrete mathematics, graph theory, theoretical computing science
Mynhardt, Kiekakieka@uvic.ca
250-721-7454
DTB A541
Graph theory
top of page

Adjuncts

NameContactResearch interests
Brewster, Richardrbrewster@tru.ca

Discrete mathematics; theoretical computer science; computational complexity; graph theory; polynomial time algorithms and good characterizations; graph homomorphisms and colouring problems; domination problems; graph packings and matchings; local search heuristics and discrete optimization.
Oellermann, Ortrudo.oellermann@uwinnipeg.ca

Graph theory with emphasis on distance notions in graphs including graph convexity, graph connectivity and the path partition conjecture for oriented graphs.
top of page

Postdoctoral fellows

NameContactSupervisor
top of page

PhD students

NameContactSupervisor
Duffy, Christopherduffy@uvic.ca
250-472-5314
DTB A455
MacGillivray
Edwards, Michelleedwardsm@uvic.ca
250-472-5316
DTB A554
MacGillivray
Flowers, Garretgflowers@uvic.ca
250-472-5316
DTB A554
Dukes
Garaschuk, Kseniyakgarasch@uvic.ca
250-472-5314
DTB A455
Dukes
Malloch, Amandaanjam@uvic.ca
250-472-5191
DTB A527
Dukes
Manzer, Joshuajmanzer@uvic.ca
250-472-5312
DTB A534
Huang
Teshima, Lauralteshima@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Mynhardt
Wodlinger, Janejw@uvic.ca
250-472-5692
DTB A534
Mynhardt
top of page

Master's students

NameContactSupervisor
Anderson, Rachelrachela@uvic.ca
250-472-5316
DTB A554
MacGillivray, Oellerman
Bard, Stephansbard@uvic.ca
250-472-5198
DTB A418c
MacGillivray
Friesen, Josephjcfriese@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Huang
Gorzny, Janjgorzny@uvic.ca
250-472-5198
DTB A418c
Huang
Nelson, Lindalin@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Mynhardt
van Bommel, Christophercvanbomm@uvic.ca
250-472-5691
DTB A457
Dukes
Yang, Feiranfyang@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
MacGillivray
top of page
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Return to secondary navigation.
Return to page content.