Skip to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.


Return to top of page.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.

Applied mathematics

The eight full-time faculty members of our applied mathematics group are active researchers in the theory of ordinary and partial differential equations, mathematical biology, celestial mechanics, climate modeling, atmospheric circulation, fluid dynamics, neural networks, transportation, mathematical physics, statistical analysis, optimization, and stochastic processes. To obtain their results, they use concepts and tools from real and complex analysis, advanced linear algebra, variational techniques, scientific computing, dynamical systems, topology, differential and non-Euclidean geometry, as well as nonlinear methods and microanalysis.

They also supervise post-doctoral, graduate, and undergraduate students, collaborate with visitors, adjunct faculty from our department, and campus colleagues who are experts in biology, biochemistry, earth and ocean science, physics, astronomy, and engineering. This group holds a weekly seminar where its members and associates communicate their results, which are then published in prestigious journals and top book series.

For all these reasons, their activity is fully recognized at the national and international level. Our department is proud that the applied mathematics group contributed towards elevating the University of Victoria to a select circle of the world’s academic institutions.

Faculty

NameContactResearch interests
Agueh, Martialagueh@uvic.ca
250-721-7466
DTB A440
Mass transport theory, partial differential equations, geometric inequalities.
Watch video
Diacu, Florindiacu@uvic.ca
250-721-6330
DTB A543
Celestial mechanics, dynamical systems, qualitative theory of differential equations.
Watch video
Edwards, Rodedwards@uvic.ca
250-721-7453
DTB A542
Ordinary differential equations, mathematical biology, neural and gene networks, neuromotor control.
Watch video
Ibrahim, Slimibrahims@uvic.ca
250-853-3294
DTB A547
Applied mathematics, partial differential equations and analysis.
Illner, Reinhardrillner@uvic.ca
250-721-7456
DTB A546
Mathematical physics, fluid dynamics, kinetic theory of gases, statistical mechanics, partial differential equations, industrial mathematics.
Watch video
Khouider, Boualemkhouider@uvic.ca
250-721-7439
DTB A550
Applied mathematics and climate modelling. Numerical methods for PDEs, stochastic modelling, atmospheric large scale circulation, tropical meteorology, convectively coupled waves, and parametrization of moist convection (i.e clouds).
Watch video
Ma, Junlingjunlingm@uvic.ca
250-721-7442
DTB A536
Applied math, math biology.
Watch video
Oshkai, Svetlanasoshkai@uvic.ca
250-721-7443
DTB A551
Steacy, Robertrsteacy@uvic.ca
250-721-7440
DTB A521
Mathematics with medical applications, digital signal processing, robotics, optimal motion control and path planning, laser scanners, light detection and ranging, digital terrain modelling, digital elevation modelling, aerial digital photography, nonrelativistic corrections to Newton's inverse-square law of gravitation.
Ye, Janejaneye@uvic.ca
250-721-6160
DTB A443
Optimal deterministic and stochastic control theory and its applications, nonsmooth analysis: theory and applications, nonsmooth optimization.
top of page

Professors emeritus

NameContactResearch interests
Hewgill, Dennyhewgilld@uvic.ca

van den Driessche, Paulinevandendr@uvic.ca
250-472-5313
DTB A448
Aspects of stability in biomathematical models and matrix analysis. Mathematical biology, especially models in epidemiology and ecology. Matrix analysis, especially stability and combinatorial matrix analysis.
top of page

Adjuncts

NameContactResearch interests
top of page

Postdoctoral fellows

NameContactSupervisor
Cardoso-Bihlo, Elsaecbihlo1@uvic.ca
250-721-6332
DTB A438
Khouider
Goswami, Bidyutbgoswami@uvic.ca
250-721-6332
DTB A438
Khouider
Li, Meilimeilili@uvic.ca
250-472-5692
DTB A535
Ma
Lin, Minghualinm@uvic.ca
250-721-7441
DTB A451
van den Driessche
Wang, Liwangli@uvic.ca
250-853-3291
DTB A453
Ye
top of page

PhD students

NameContactSupervisor
Asaduzzaman, S.M.asaduzz@uvic.ca
250-472-5316
DTB A554
Ma, van den Driessche
Awais, Muhammadmawais@uvic.ca
250-472-5315
DTB A454
Ibrahim
Collins, Daviddavidc@uvic.ca
250-472-5315
DTB A454
Khouider
De la Chevrotière, Michèledelachev@uvic.ca
250-853-3293
DTB A518
Khouider
Foxall, Ericefoxall@uvic.ca
250-721-7465
DTB A555
Edwards, van den Driessche
Saumier Demers, Louis-Phillipelsaumier@uvic.ca
250-853-3293
DTB A518
Agueh, Khouider
Shen, Shengyishengyis@uvic.ca
250-472-5100
DTB A557
Diacu, Ibrahim
Zhu, Shuqiangzhus@uvic.ca
250-472-5315
DTB A454
Diacu
top of page

Master's students

NameContactSupervisor
Culos, Garrettgarrettc@uvic.ca
250-472-5691
DTB A457
Olesky (CS), van den Driessche
Hall, Meghanhallm@uvic.ca
250-472-5691
DTB A457
Edwards
Odense, Simonsiodense@uvic.ca
250-472-5691
DTB A457
Edwards
Thompson, Williamwthompso@uvic.ca
250-721-5198
DTB A418c
Agueh
top of page
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Return to secondary navigation.
Return to page content.