Skip to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.


Return to top of page.
Skip to secondary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to secondary navigation.

Our people

In the tabbed table below, you will find:

  • faculty - professors in the department
  • adjunct faculty -  external experts with close affiliation with the department
  • staff: general office, laboratory instructors, co-op, biotechnical support and central services
  • emeritus faculty - retired faculty members still active with the department

Faculty

Dr. Juan Ausio

Dr. Juan Ausio, BSc, PhD (Barcelona), Professor
Ph: 250-721-8863
Email: jausio@uvic.ca
Dr. Ausio's web page

Biophysical and biochemical studies of DNA-protein interactions involved in chromatin assembly and gene expression.

 
Dr. Al Boraston

Dr. Alisdair Boraston, BSc, PhD (Brit.Col.), Associate Professor
Ph: 250-472-4168
Email: boraston@uvic.ca
Dr. Boraston's web page

Protein-carbohydrate recognition using molecular biological, biochemical, biophysical, and structural methods.

 
Dr. Christoph Borchers

Dr. Christoph Borchers, BSc, MSc, PhD (Konstanz), Professor
Ph: 250-483-3221
Email: borchers@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Borchers' web page

Application of mass spectrometry, proteomics, photoaffinity labelling, and molecular modelling to determine protein structure.

 
Dr. Marty Boulanger

Dr. Martin Boulanger, BSc, PhD (Brit.Col.), Associate Professor
Ph: 250-721-7072
Email: mboulang@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Boulanger's web page

Structural and biophysical basis of host-parasite pathogenicity, small molecule therapeutics, and novel structure of enzymes in bioremediation.

 
Dr. Doug Briant

Dr. Douglas Briant, BSc, MSc (Waterloo), PhD (Brit.Col.), Assistant Teaching Professor
Ph: 250-472-4458
Email: dbriant@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Briant's web page

 
Dr. John E. Burke

Dr. John E. Burke, PhD (UC San Diego), Assistant Professor
Ph: 250-721-8732
Email: jeburke@uvic.ca

Structural and dynamic studies investigating the regulation of lipid signalling enzymes and their role in human disease.

 
Dr. Robert Burke

Dr. Robert Burke, BSc, PhD (Alta), Professor and Chair of the Department
Ph: 250-721-7077
Email: bcmb@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Burke's web page

Biochemistry and cell biology of signaling in early animal development.

 
Dr. Caroline Cameron

Dr. Caroline Cameron, BSc, PhD (UVic), Associate Professor
Ph: 250-853-3189
Email: caroc@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Cameron's web page

Bioinformatic, genomic and proteomic approaches to pathogenesis of spirochetes.

 
Dr. Steve Evans

Dr. Stephen Evans, BSc, PhD (Brit.Col.), Professor and Associate Dean of Graduate Studies
Ph: 250-472-4548
Email: svevans@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Evans' web page

Structural biology of protein-carbohydrate recognition; x-ray crystallography and scientific visualisation.

 
Dr. Caren Helbing

Dr. Caren Helbing, BSc (Hons)(Windsor), PhD (Western), Professor
Ph: 250-721-6146
Email: chelbing@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Helbing's web page

The effect of environmental pollutants on hormonal signalling in development and disease.

 
Dr. Perry Howard

Dr. Perry Howard, BSc (Waterloo), PhD (Toronto), Associate Professor Cross-listed with Biology
Ph: 250-472-4074
Email: phoward@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Howard's web page

Biogenesis and function of miRNAs in stem cells, EphA2 and EphrinA1 in cancer, and rewiring of tyrosine pathway in cancer.

 
Dr. Julian Lum

Dr. Julian Lum, BSc, MSc, PhD (Ottawa), Assistant Professor (Limited Term)
Ph: 250-519-5718
Email: jjlum@bccancer.bc.ca
Visit Deeley Research Centre web page

Cellular metabolism in cell death and survival, control of T cell function by autophagy and immunotherapy approaches to target cancer stem cells; Scientist, Trev & Joyce Deeley Research Centre, BC Cancer Agency.

 
Dr. Fran Nano

Dr. Francis Nano, AB (Oberlin), MSc, PhD (Ill), Professor
Ph: 250-721-7074
Email: fnano@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Nano's web page

Function of pathogenicity proteins of Franciscella, synthetic biology using cold-loving bacteria, and development of expression systems for cyanobacteria.

 
Dr. Brad Nelson

Dr. Brad Nelson, BSc (Hons) (UBC), PhD (California), Professor (Limited Term)
Ph: 250-519-5705
Email: bnelson@bccancer.bc.ca
Visit Deeley Research Centre web page

Immune response to cancer, immunotherapy, T cell biology, cytokines, signal transduction and cell cycle regulation. Director of the Trev and Joyce Deeley Research Centre, BC Cancer Agency.

 
Dr. Chris Nelson

Dr. Christopher Nelson, BSc, PhD (Brit.Col.), Assistant Professor
Ph: 250-853-3889
Email: cjn@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Nelson's web page

Regulation of gene expression by novel chromatin modifying enzymes in yeast and mammalian cells.

 
Dr. Terry Pearson

Dr. Terry Pearson, BSc, PhD (Brit.Col.), Professor
Ph: 250-721-7080
Email: parasite@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Pearson's web page

Pathogenesis of trypanosomes parasites using antibody-based technologies, and antibody enrichment techniques for quantitative mass spectrometry.

 
Dr. Paul Romaniuk

Dr. Paul Romaniuk, BSc, PhD (McMaster), Professor
Ph: 250-721-7088
Email: pjr@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Romaniuk's web page

Design and optimization of DNA and RNA-based isothermal amplification assays. Development of novel nucleic acid based point-of-care diagnostic tests to major pathogens in low resource countries.

 
Dr. Chris Upton

Dr. Christopher Upton, BSc, PhD (Lond), Professor
Ph: 250-721-6507
Email: cupton@uvic.ca
Visit Dr. Upton's web page

Viral bioinformatics and computer technologies to analyze viral genomes.

 

Adjunct faculty

Dr. Leigh Anderson

Dr. N. Leigh Anderson, BA, PhD (Cambridge)
Adjunct Professor
Visit Dr. Anderson's web page

Research interests: Plasma Proteome

Human plasma proteomics and biomarkers of disease and quantitative mass spectrometry.

 
Dr. Michael Przybylski

Dr. Michael Przybylski, PhD (Mainz)
Adjunct Professor
Ph: + 49-7531-882249
E-mail: michael.przybylski@uni-konstanz.de
Visit Universitat Konstanz

Application of mass spectrometry and peptide biochemistry to structure and mechanisms of neurodegenerative proteins; pathophysiological protein modification; vaccine chemistry; structure and epitope analysis of therapeutic antibodies; affinity-mass spectrometry of biopolymer interaction epitopes; mass spectrometric elucidation of oligomerisation/truncation pathways and structures of "misfolding"/aggregating proteins in neurodegenerative diseases.

 
Dr. Andrew Ross

Dr. Andrew Ross, BSc (Hons) (Surrey), PhD (UBC)
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph: 250-363-6800
E-mail: andrew.ross@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Dr. Ross's webpage
Visit Institute of Ocean Sciences web page

Application of mass spectrometry and other analytical techniques to proteomics, metabolomics, metal biogeochemistry and environmental research.

 
 
Dr. Peter Watson

Dr. Peter Watson, BA, MA, MB BChir (Cambridge), FRCP (Manitoba)
Adjunct Professor
Ph: 250-519-5700
Email: pwatson@bccancer.bc.ca
Visit Deeley Research Centre web page

Molecular genetics of breast cancer. Director of the Tumour Tissue Repository at the Deeley Cancer Research Centre, BC Cancer Agency.

 
Dr. John Webb

Dr. John Webb, BSc, MSc, PhD (Western Ontario)
Adjunct Associate Professor
Ph: 250-519-5706
Email: jwebb@bccancer.bc.ca
Visit Deeley Research Centre web page

Cellular immunity and immune responses to peptide eptitopes, and vaccine development for cervical cancer.

 

Staff

General Office Petch 207

fern

Margaret Blake, Administrative Officer
Ph: 250-721-8887
Email: bcmbadmn@uvic.ca

 
fern

Deb Penner, Chair's Assistant
Ph: 250-721-7077
Email: biocmicr@uvic.ca

 
fern

Melinda Powell, Grad Secretary
Ph: 250-721-8861
Email: biocgsec@uvic.ca

 

Laboratory Instructors

fern

Barb Currie, Senior Microbiology Lab Instructor
Ph: 250-472-4251
Petch 179C
Email: bcurrie@uvic.ca

 
fern

Melissa Doyle, MICR 200 Lab Instructor
Ph: 250-721-6504
Petch 186
Email: doylem@uvic.ca

 
fern

Val Kerr, BCMB 406 Lab Instructor
Ph: 250-472-5119
Petch 179B
Email: valk@uvic.ca

 
fern

Allison Maffey, BCMB 301 Lab Instructor
Ph: 250-721-6505
Petch 188
Email: amaffey@uvic.ca

 
fern

Janice Keliher, BCMB 301 Lab Instructor
Ph: 250-721-6505
Petch 188
Email: jkeliher@uvic.ca

 
fern

Glen Pryhitka, Senior Biochemistry Lab Instructor
Ph: 250-721-7076
Petch 179A
Email: pryhitka@uvic.ca

 
fern

Erika Wall, BCMB 406 Lab Instructor
Ph: 250-472-5119
Petch 179B
Email: ewall@uvic.ca

 
fern

Adrienne White, BCMB 301 Lab Instructor
Ph: 250-721-6505
Petch 188
Email: adrwhite@uvic.ca

 

Co-op, Biochemistry & Microbiology

fern

Stara Morning, Co-op Secretary
Ph: 250-472-4800
Petch 192
Email: bcmbsec@uvic.ca

 
fern

Rozanne Poulson, Co-op Coordinator
Ph: 250-721-8813
Petch 190
Email: rpoulson@uvic.ca

 

Biotechnical Support Centre Petch 257

fern

Stephen Horak, Electronics Technician
Ph: 250-721-6093
Email: shorak@uvic.ca

 
fern

Albert Labossiere, BSC Manager
Ph: 250-721-7082
Email: alabossi@uvic.ca

 
fern

Scott Scholz, Electronics Technician
Ph: 250-721-6566
Email: sscholz@uvic.ca

 

Central Services Petch 153

fern

Mary Anne Cunningham, Laboratory Assistant
Ph: 250-721-8880

 
fern

Katie McKechnie, Laboratory Assistant
Ph: 250-721-8880
Email: mckechni@uvic.ca

 

Emeritus Faculty

fern

Dr. Tom Buckley, Professor Emeritus
Email: tbuckley@shaw.ca

fern

Dr. Ed Ishiguro, Professor Emeritus
Email: ishiguro@uvic.ca

Olafson

Dr. Bob Olafson, Professor Emeritus
Email: olafson@uvic.ca

fern

Dr. Verner Paetkau, Professor Emeritus
Email: vhp@uvic.ca

Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Skip to page content.
Return to top of page.
Return to primary navigation.
Return to secondary navigation.
Return to page content.