Awards and honours

Awards for research achievement

UVic faculty members have received national and international recognition for their research achievements. Each honour we receive reflects both the quality of our people and programs and our reputation as one of Canada’s leading research intensive universities. For a comprehensive list of award recipients, visit the UVic Honour Roll.

One recent national award-winner is Dr. Sara Ellison, a Professor in Astronomy and Canada Research Chair in Observational Cosmology. She won the 2014 Royal Society of Canada Rutherford Memorial Medal in Physics. The Rutherford Medal is awarded for outstanding research  in physics, with preference given to candidates who are early in career. Dr. Ellison has also been elected a Member of 2015 cohort of The College of New Scientists, Artists and Scholars. In this video she discusses the evolution of galaxies and the exciting field of astronomy.  

One of the university’s strategic goals is to increase opportunities for our researchers to receive recognition for their outstanding work.

Our office provides support for nominating faculty and staff. We encourage faculty to consider nominating their colleagues for external honours and awards as well as UVic’s Craigdarroch research awards.

Brad Buie, Awards Facilitator  |  250-472-5408  |