Research and teaching with animals

Animal Care Committee (ACC)

All research at the university involving animals -- laboratory or field-based -- must receive approval from the Animal Care Committee (ACC). This approval is required before and throughout the study period.

Mandate: to ensure that all research with animals is conducted in accordance with the highest ethical and humane standards and that the animals, the public, the researchers, and the university are all protected from harm.

University policies and procedures comply with the policies of the Canadian Council on Animal Care.

If you have any questions, or if you are new to research, please contact us before you begin your study.  For assistance, please contact: Animal Ethics Liaison, acsc@uvic.ca 250-853-3187.

Looking for Animal Care ServicesClick here.

Please review the HELP SHEET to ensure you are following the proper procedures when using animals in your research, teaching, or in the field. 

FAQs

Should I apply?

If you will be using animals or animal tissue for research or if you are going into the field to observe or collect, you must complete an AUP and send it to the ACC. 

How do I apply?

Complete your application (AUP) to use animals for research or teaching with the assistance of your supervisor.  Contact the Veterinary Director, acsvet@uvic.ca for additional assistance.  Once complete, submit your AUP to the Animal Ethics Liaison at acsc@uvic.ca.  

Who must apply?

You must apply for and receive ethical approval before you begin your study and maintain approval during the course of your study/data collection.

How often does the ACC meet?

Animal Care Committee meetings are held in the months of September to June, on the 2nd Friday.  (Please note: meetings in September & January are held on the 3rd Friday).   There are no meetings in July or August.

The conduct of animal research at UVic is based on policies at both the Board of Governors (BOG) and the Office of Research Services (ORS) levels. Both the BOG and ORS polices are in compliance with the Canadian Council on Animal Care (CCAC) guidelines for the humane treatment of animals in research.

UVic Policies:

ACC policies:

ACC Procedures:

CCAC:

Animal Care Committee meetings are held monthly, except in July and August.

Deadlines for applications

to be received by 4:30pm

ACC meeting dates

Tuesday, September 6, 2016 Friday, September 16, 2016
Tuesday, October 4, 2016 Friday, October 14, 2016
Tuesday, November 1, 2016 Thursday, November 10, 2016
Tuesday, November 29, 2016 Friday, December 9, 2016
Tuesday, January 10, 2017 Friday, January 20, 2017
Tuesday, January 31, 2017 Friday, February 10, 2017
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 Friday, March 10, 2017
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 Friday, April 21, 2017
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 Friday, May 12, 2017
Tuesday, May 30, 2017 Friday, June 9, 2017

Veterinary Director

acsvet@uvic.ca

250-853-3694

Animal Ethics Liaison

acsc@uvic.ca

250-853-3187