Faculty directory

Name

Contact

Research Interests

Elizabeth Adjin-Tettey
On leave July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2017
250 721-8182
Remedies, insurance, torts, feminist analysis of law, law and society, and race, ethnicity, and the law. 

John Borrows
Canada Research Chair in Indigenous Law

250 721-8168
Indigenous law, environmental law, constitutional law.

Gillian Calder
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations

250 721-8152
lawassoc@uvic.ca
Family law and social issues, constitutional law, gender equality.

Jamie L Cassels, QC
Serving as University President

Remedies, legal theory, contracts, torts.

Kathryn Chan

250 721-8163
kmchan@uvic.ca

Nonprofit sector law, law and religion, administrative law and regulation, trusts, the law of gift.

Patricia Cochran 250 721-8183

Constitutional law, political and legal theory, law of evidence, human rights, social welfare law.

Deborah L Curran,
Acting Executive Director, Environmental Law Centre

250 853-3105
dlc@uvic.ca
Water law, municipal law, growth management and land use law, environmental law, agricultural land and food systems, real estate and shared-decision making.

Maneesha Deckha
Lansdowne Chair in Law
On leave July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2017 

250 721-8175
mdeckha@uvic.ca
Animal law, health, bioethics, feminist analysis.

Gerry Ferguson

250 721-8174
gferguso@uvic.ca
Corruption, criminal law, criminal procedure, sentencing, mental health law.
Glenn Gallins, QC
Director of the Law Centre Clinical Legal Education Program
250 385-1221
glenn.gallins@thelawcentre.ca
Clinical and public legal education.
J Donald Galloway 250 721-8173
galloway@uvic.ca
Immigration, refugee and citizenship law.
Mark R Gillen 250 721-8169
mgillen@uvic.ca
Securities, trusts, business associations, tax and competition law.
Donna Greschner
250-721-8866
dgresch@uvic.ca
Constitutional law, comparative constitutional law, human rights (focus on equality rights), political and legal theory.
Robert Howell 250 721-8186
rhowell@uvic.ca
Intellectual property, technology, telecommunications, private international law.
Rebecca Johnson 250 721-8187
rjohnson@uvic.ca
Criminal law, legal process, business associations.

Freya Kodar
Associate Dean, Administration and Research

250 721-8190
law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca
Pension (public and private), consumer law and policy, debt and credit regulation, income security, care work, disability and the law.

Michelle Lawrence  

250 721-8894
mlawr@uvic.ca
Criminal law, evidence, sentencing, substance abuse and mental disorder, relationship violence, police accountability.
Carol Liao 250 721-8164
cliao@uvic.ca
Business law, corporate social responsibility, economic analysis of law, sustainable development law and policy, social innovation.
Colin Macleod 250 721-7521
cmacleod@uvic.ca
Philosophy, liberal equality.
Ted L. McDorman 250-721-8181
tlmcdorm@uvic.ca
Public international law, international ocean law.
Jerry McHale, QC
Lam Chair in Law and Public Policy
250 721-7647
mjmchale@uvic.ca
Access to justice, justice reform, mediation and dispute resolution, child welfare and family law.
Val Napoleon
Law Foundation Professor of Aboriginal Justice and Governance
250 721-8172
napoleon@uvic.ca

Indigenous legal traditions, Indigenous feminist legal studies, governance, restorative justice, Indigenous property law, Aboriginal legal issues.

Kim Nayyer
Associate University Librarian - Law, Legal Research & Writing Program
250-721-8564
knayyer@uvic.ca
Law librarian, legal research instruction, law library collection management.
Andrew Newcombe 250 721-8161
newcombe@uvic.ca
International investment law and arbitration, international trade law and contracts.
Pooja Parmar 250 721-8179

legal pluralism, legal ethics, int’l human rights law, legal history, law and colonialism.

Victor V. Ramraj
Law Chair, Centre for Asia-Pacific Initiatives (CAPI)
Director, Graduate Program
250-721-8154
Comparative constitutional and administrative law (SE Asia), transnational regulation, law and globalization, emergency powers in Asia.

D Heather Raven, QC

250 472-5247
hraven@uvic.ca
Indigenous law, labour law.
Tim Richards
Director, First-Year Legal Research and Writing Program
250 721-8185
trichard@uvic.ca
Human rights law, poverty and social policy, legal skills education.

Supriya Routh

250 853-3167
srouth@uvic.ca
Work and labour law, international labour law, atypical and informal workers in the global south, human rights.

Chris Tollefson

250 721-8170
ctollef@uvic.ca
Environmental law and litigation, sustainability, environmental governance, forestry, Aboriginal law, access to justice.

Jeremy Webber
Dean of Law

250 721-8147
lawdean@uvic.ca
Indigenous legal rights, cultural diversity, constitutional theory.

Name

Phone

Email

Jeremy Webber
Dean of Law
250 721-8147
Gillian Calder
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Relations
250 721-8152 lawassoc@uvic.ca
Freya Kodar
Associate Dean, Administration and Research
250 721-8190 law.assocdean.adm@uvic.ca

Name

Course

Email

Catherine Boies Parker 343: Charter Litigation
Oliver Brandes 392: Water Law
Andrew Buck andrewbuck@uvic.ca
Joan Chambers 343: Advanced Corporate Transactions
Chief Justice Thomas Crabtree 360: Legal Ethics & Professionalism
Mary Falconer 387: Health Law
Stephan Ferance 366: Patent Law stephen.ferance@gowlings.com
Justice Barbara Fisher
Judy Fudge J.A.Fudge@kent.ac.uk
Richard Fyfe 360:Legal Ethics & Professionalism
Peter Gall 343: Sports Law
Jonas Gifford 366: Patent Law
Matthew Good 343: Statutory Interpretation & Drafting
Harvey Groberman 343: Statutory Interpretation & Drafting harveyg@uvic.ca
Hugh Gwillim 356: Advocacy Hugh.Gwillim@gov.bc.ca
Rod Hayley 343: Class Actions & Mass Litigation rhayley@uvic.ca
Andrew Harding
Kimberly Henders Miller
Samantha Hulme hulme13@uvic.ca
Hank Intven 367: Communications Law & Policy
Veronica Jackson 360: Legal Ethics & Professionalism Veronica.Jackson@gov.bc.ca
Nils Jensen 309: Evidence
Christopher Jones 343: Energy Law
Alison Latimer

Troy Lehman

Michael Litchfield
Director, Business Law Clinic

349: Business Law Clinic

mlitchfield@thinklabconsulting.com

Geoffrey Loomer

geoffreyloomer@uvic.ca
Raji Mangat 359: Civil Liberties
Maxine Matilpi 368: Indigenous Feminist Legal Studies mmatilpi@uvic.ca
Daniel Mildenberger 317: Real Property Transactions Mildenberger@sll.ca
Catherine Morris
Michael Munro 356: Advocacy
Justice Jeff Oliphant 307B: Civil Procedure joliphant@judicom.ca
Joel Oliphant 307B: Civil Procedure
Paul Pearson 303: Criminal Procedure pearson@mtplaw.com
Keith Phillips
Jarett Plonka
Deanna Rivers dgrivers@uvic.ca

Calvin Sandborn
Legal Director of the
Environmental Law Centre

csandbor@uvic.ca
Kate Saunders 387: Health Law
Daniel So 315: Business Associations danielso@uvic.ca
Ian Wiebe 355: Legal Skills
Qianfan Zhang