Program list & descriptions

Global Business ( Masters )

The Master of Global Business (MGB) specialization in international business offers a rigorous learning experience combined with cultural experience and training that is richer than any other offered in Canada. You'll build on, and use, the considerable international expertise and contacts within the Peter B. Gustavson School of Business.

Entrance requirements

Prerequisite Minimum standing
BCom, BBA, BMgmnt or equivalent
B (last two years of study); commerce, business, administration or management degree with at least one finance and one international business course

Applicants must also meet the general admission requirements for the Faculty of Graduate Studies.

Application deadlines

Entry point Domestic students International students
September (MGB) May 30 April 30

Exams and other requirements

Program advisers

    Department directory

    Group/Position Name Telephone Office E-mail

    Peter B. Gustavson School of Business

    Office of the Dean

    Dean Saul Klein 250-721-6422 BEC 254 bizdean@uvic.ca
    Associate Dean, Programs David McCutcheon 250-721-6426 BEC 250 dmccutch@uvic.ca
    Associate Dean, Faculty Renewal Mark Colgate 250-853-3873 BEC 446 colgate@uvic.ca
    Assistant Dean, External Relations Patricia Elemans 250-472-4447 BEC 234 pelemans@uvic.ca
    Director, Administration & Finance Kevan Gorham 250-472-4280 BEC 254c kgorham@uvic.ca
    Chief Technology Officer (CTO) Nav Bassi 250-472-5924 CLE C012 navbassi@uvic.ca
    Research & Special Projects Coordinator Sue Bengtson 250-853-3298 BEC 148 suebeng@uvic.ca
    Academic Projects Officer Shannon Perdigao 250-721-8077 BEC 254 shannonp@uvic.ca
    Finance Officer Erin Kilpatrick 250-721-6110 BEC 254 finances@uvic.ca
    Secretary to the Dean Sandra Brazeau-Smith 250-721-6422 BEC 254 sbrazeau@uvic.ca
    Secretary to the Associate Dean, Programs & Faculty Support Leslie MacDonald 250-853-3537 BEC 254 facsupp@uvic.ca
    Secretary to the Associate Dean, Faculty Renewal & Faculty Support Jake Ganzeveld 250-721-6068 BEC 254 gustavson@uvic.ca
    Faculty Support Sheryl Zornes 250-472-5647 BEC 254 GSBfacultysupport@uvic.ca
    Faculty Support Darci Brady 250-472-4139 BEC 254 supfac@uvic.ca
    FAX 250-721-6613

    Accreditation

    Director of Accreditations, Rankings and Metrics Chris Graham 250-472-4675 BEC 258 grahamc@uvic.ca
    Accreditation Officer Shari Wierenga BEC 254 accredit@uvic.ca
    FAX 250-721-6067

    Executive Programs

    Director, Executive Programs Administration Charmaine Stack 250-472-4446 TEF 258 execprog@uvic.ca
    Associate Director, Domestic, Executive Programs Tzena Bennallack On leave
    Associate Director, International and Indigenous, Executive Programs Nicole Wallace 250-721-7039 TEF 245 nicolew1@uvic.ca
    Account Executive Eddie Isted 250-721-6429 TEF 252 epcoord@uvic.ca
    International Projects Coordinator Maggie (Yue) Li On leave
    Client Service Specialist Laurel McLeod 250-721-8793 TEF 245 epadvice@uvic.ca
    Client Service Specialist Shane Mantle 250-721-7081 TEF 245 smantle@uvic.ca
    Client Service Specialist Helena (Huan Ran) Zhang 250-472-4448 TEF 256 hrzhang@uvic.ca
    Summer Programs Manager Kelly Loudoun 250-472-4721 TEF 248 kloudoun@uvic.ca
    Clerk Dina Ventura 250-853-3611 TEF 245 execsup@uvic.ca
    FAX 250-472-4497

    External Relations & Development

    Assistant Dean, External Relations Patricia Elemans 250-472-4447 BEC 234 pelemans@uvic.ca
    Development Officer Amanda Taylor 250-472-4279 BEC 142 bizdev@uvic.ca
    Communications and Public Relations Officer Moira Dann On leave
    Alumni Officer Krista Boehnert 250-721-6630 BEC 138 boehnert@uvic.ca
    Corporate Relationship Manager Alberta Sashie Steenstra 403-554-0075 Calgary AB ssteenst@uvic.ca
    Website Communications Coordinator Erin Beattie 250-661-3294 BEC 146 bizwiz@uvic.ca
    External Relations Secretary Pam Bartilucci 250-721-6406 BEC 236 pbartilu@uvic.ca
    External Relations Clerk 250-721-6077
    FAX 250-853-3828

    Graduate Programs

    Graduate Recruitment Officer Sandy Huang 250-853-3747 BEC 289B huangyt@uvic.ca

    Graduate Programs (MBA)

    General Office 250-721-6075 BEC 283 mba@uvic.ca
    MBA Director Vivien Corwin 250-721-6311 BEC 276 vcorwin@uvic.ca
    MBA Associate Director Ian Robertson 250-721-6403 BEC 290 mbadira@uvic.ca
    MBA Co-op Coordinator Brad Erikson 250-721-6083 BEC 289A berikson@uvic.ca
    MBA Consulting Projects Director John Oldale 250-721-6433 BEC 272 joldale@uvic.ca
    MBA Data Analysis and Program Logistics Coordinator Leah Wilcock 250-472-5991 BEC 289C wilcockl@uvic.ca
    MBA Secretary Catrina Jones 250-721-6058 BEC 289 mbasec@uvic.ca
    MBA Secretary Amy Weinberg On leave
    MBA Reception 250-721-6075 BEC 289 mba@uvic.ca
    FAX 250-721-7066

    Graduate Programs (MGB)

    MGB Director Ignace Ng 250-721-6073 BEC 432 ing@uvic.ca
    MGB Associate Director John Oldale 250-721-6433 BEC 272 joldale@uvic.ca
    MGB Program Assistant Alyssa Cuthbert 250-853-3746 BEC 117B mgbasst@uvic.ca
    MGB Secretary Naoko Iida 250-853-3746 BEC 289 gillasst@uvic.ca

    Doctoral Programs (PhD)

    PhD Director Carmen Galang 250-721-6111 BEC 218 cgalang@uvic.ca
    PhD Program Manager & Special Projects Wendy Mah 250-721-6060 BEC 258 wendymah@uvic.ca
    PhD Secretary Naoko Iida 250-853-3746 BEC 289 gillasst@uvic.ca

    International Programs Office (IP)

    IP Director Elango Elangovan 250-721-6405 BEC 224 arelango@uvic.ca
    IP Associate Director Brian Leacock 250-721-6434 BEC 270 bleacock@uvic.ca
    IP Manager Jane Collins 250-721-6057 BEC 268 jane@uvic.ca
    IP International Student Recruiter - China Specialist Allen Sun 250-472-4506 BEC 280 sunwen@uvic.ca
    IP Exchange Student Advisor Radhika Nair 250-721-6061 BEC 278 exchange@uvic.ca
    IP International Student Advisor Christina Hernandez 250-853-3748 BEC 278 GSBwelcome@uvic.ca
    IP Assistant Fiona Sehmi 250-721-6419 BEC 278 ipoffice@uvic.ca
    FAX 250-721-6457

    Undergraduate Programs (BCom)

    General Office 250-472-4728 BEC 283 bcom@uvic.ca
    BCom Academic Director Margaret Klatt 250-721-6425 BEC 274 mklatt@uvic.ca
    BCom Director of Administration Sheryl Karras 250-721-6056 BEC 282 slkarras@uvic.ca
    BCom Experiential Learning Manager Jennifer Gill 250-853-3750 BEC 272 jrgill@uvic.ca
    BCom Experiential Learning Officer Melissa Doyle 250-853-3750 BEC 272 doylem@uvic.ca
    BCom Admissions/Advising Officer Audrey Audebert 250-721-6432 BEC 238 audreya@uvic.ca
    BCom Advisor Laurelle Inouye 250-472-4338 BEC 284 advisor@uvic.ca
    BCom Advisor/Special Projects Kate Donovan 250-472-4170 BEC 284 advisor@uvic.ca
    BCom Secretary Brenda Stajduhar 250-472-4855 BEC 283 bcomsec@uvic.ca
    BCom Program Assistant Stacey Gavora 250-472-4855 BEC 283 bcomasst@uvic.ca
    BCom Clerk Rachelle Chamberlain 250-472-4488 BEC 283 bssclerk@uvic.ca
    FAX 250-721-7066

    Business Career Office

    Career Educator Beverly Stevens 250-721-6087 BEC 107 bco@uvic.ca
    Employment Assistant Melissa Hamer 250-472-4441 BEC 112 bccc@uvic.ca
    FAX 250-721-6605

    Business Co-op Office

    Manager Leslie Liggett 250-721-6065 BEC 116 lliggett@uvic.ca
    Co-op Employment Development Officer Robyn Booth 250-472-4449 BEC 114 resselti@uvic.ca
    Co-op Coordinator, MBA Brad Erikson 250-721-6083 BEC 289A berikson@uvic.ca
    Co-op Coordinator Bert Klatt 250-721-6066 BEC 126 bklatt@uvic.ca
    Co-op Coordinator Marguerite Casey-Wolnicki 250-853-3202 BEC 128 mcasey@uvic.ca
    Co-op Coordinator Alma Osorio 250-472-4566 BEC 124 almao@uvic.ca
    Co-op Coordinator Sarah McQuillan 250-721-6410 BEC 130 sarahmcq@uvic.ca
    Co-op Coordinator Vivian Leik 250-721-6657 BEC 132 vl@uvic.ca
    Co-op Coordinator Alissa Wakeman 250-721-6657 BEC 122 awakeman@uvic.ca
    Co-op Placement Coordinator Mami Schouten 250-721-6413 BEC 118 mschout@uvic.ca
    Co-op Placement Coordinator Cathy Burrage 250-721-6496 BEC 120 cburrage@uvic.ca
    Co-op Assistant Yumi Morishima 250-721-6054 BEC 112 yumim@uvic.ca
    Co-op Assistant Melissa Hamer 250-472-4441 BEC 112 bccc@uvic.ca
    Co-op Assistant Gabriel Barcante 250-721-6063 BEC 112 busicoop@uvic.ca
    FAX 250-721-6605

    Centre for Social and Sustainable Innovation (CSSI)

    Director Monika Winn 250-721-6071 BEC 472 miwinn@uvic.ca
    Associate Director Heather Ranson 250-721-6112 BEC 208 hranson@uvic.ca
    CSSI Coordinator Rachel Goldsworthy 250-853-3721 BEC 150 cssi@uvic.ca

    Innovation Centre for Entrepreneurs (ICE)

    ICE Director Brock Smith 250-721-6070 BEC 232 smithb@uvic.ca
    ICE Communications and Event Coordinator Elise Wren 250-721-8556 BEC 144 elisew@uvic.ca
    General ICE Enquiries 250-721-8556 SED 142 iceteam@uvic.ca

    Entrepreneurship Specialization

    Champion Brock Smith 250-721-6070 BEC 232 smithb@uvic.ca

    International Specialization

    Champion Ignace Ng 250-721-6073 BEC 440 ing@uvic.ca

    Research

    Champion Mary Yoko Brannen 250-472-4445 BEC 474 maryyoko@uvic.ca

    Service Management Specialization

    Champion Stephen Tax 250-721-6417 BEC 448 stax@uvic.ca

    Sustainability

    Champion Monika Winn 250-721-6071 BEC 472 miwinn@uvic.ca

    Internship

    What work experience is involved?

    Students taking part in this program will complete a 300-hour internship. The work experience terms are subject to the general regulations of the graduate co-op program. Contact the Business Co-op Program for details.

    What other career development support does UVic offer?

    UVic Co-op and Career can support you through every stage of your career development, through:

    Looking for work?

    Apply for all types of job opportunities at learninginmotion.uvic.ca.

    Apply for admission

    Program information


    Professional development
    Three Minute Thesis (3MT)
    Graduate Students' Society

    Program information