Advisory board

The Indigenous Education advisory board in the Faculty of Education provides advice on all aspects of the policies, programs and personnel related to Indigenous issues. More specifically, the advisory board provides advice to the faculty as it works to develop the following areas:

The Indigenous Education advisory board also provides representation within the faculty to other agencies and programs that serve the interests of Indigenous education.

The work of the advisory board is conducted through regular meetings, co-chaired by longstanding members of the advisory board designated by the Dean of Education.

All board members in attendance have an equal voice in decision-making. From their areas of expertise, members bring to the table wisdom, insight and positive suggestions to enhance the faculty’s Indigenous education programming and service.

The board serves to review and recommend revision of all current policies, programs and practices within the Faculty of Education that focus on Indigenous people and issues. The goal of such revisions is to strengthen the programs, policies and practices making them as responsive and valuable as possible.

The board also recommends new policies, programs and practices in order to attract and retain Indigenous people to the faculty and to increase the prominence of Indigenous issues in the faculty.

Name Position

Nella Nelson Director of Aboriginal Education, School District #61, Victoria
Janice Simcoe Chair, Aboriginal Education and Community Connections, Camosun College

External members
Trish Rosborough Director of Aboriginal Enhancement Branch, Ministry of Education, Province of British Columbia
Kendra Underwood Director, Adult Education Centre, Saanich Indian School Board (SISB)
Bruce Parisian Executive Director, Victoria Native Friendship Centre
Marie Cooper Tsartlip Elder, Saanich Indian School Board Member
Butch Dick Songhees First Nation
Vacant Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council
Vacant Esquimalt Nation
Kathleen King-Hunt District Principal, Aboriginal Education, Sooke District Saseenos Elementary School
VACANT Kwakwakawak Territory Rep
VACANT Métis Nation of Greater Victoria
VACANT Native Student Union Rep
Jacqueline Dennis-Orr Aboriginal Coordinator/ Education Officer, Learning Programs Branch, Ministry of Advanced Education
Linda Gladstone SISB Post-Secondary Advisor
Sheila Austin School District #63, Saanich

UVic members
Dr. Ralf St. Clair Dean, Faculty of Education
Dr. Alison Preece Associate Dean Teacher Education, Faculty of Education
Dr. Robert Anthony Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction (EDCI)
Dr. John Anderson Chair, Educational Psychology and Leadership Studies
Dr. Rick Bell Director, School of Exercise Science Physical & Health Education
Dr. Jason Price Assistant Professor, EDCI
Dr. Michele Tanaka Faculty, Teacher Education
Catharine Berndt Development Officer, Faculty of Education
Dr. Lorna Williams Canada Research Chair, Education adn Linguistics Assistant Professor, Indigenous Education & EDCI
Dr. Carmen Rodriguez de France Assistant Professor, Indigenous Education
Onowa McIvor Director, Indigenous Education
Aliki Marinakis Indigenous Education Language Program Coodinator
Kaitlyn Charlie Indigenous Education Language Program Assistant
Nick Claxton Indigenous Education advisor/coordinator
Lorelei McEvay Indigenous Education administrative assistant